Mojo Says 'Hello There' to Cheap Trick Catalog With Rick Nielsen Publishing Deal

Cheap Trick
 David McClister

Cheap Trick

Mojo Music & Media, the indie music publishing company that launched in 2017, has acquired 50% of Cheap Trick guitarist Rick Nielsen's music publishing catalog which consists of more than 400 songs, including the power pop band's biggest hits "I Want You To Want Me," "Surrender" and "Dream Police," as well as perennial concert-opener "Hello There." Terms of the deal were not disclosed.

Nielsen wrote or co-wrote the vast majority of the Cheap Trick catalog, and as the songwriter Nielsen retains full ownership of the writer's share. That means, in this deal Nielsen sold half of his publishing stake, which he owned completely; and half of a co-publishing deal that covered about 10 songs, according to the company.

"For the last four decades-plus, Rick Nielsen has been teaching a master class in how to write jangly, melodic pop-punk anthems," Mojo co-founder and CEO Mark Fried said in a statement. "He and his Cheap Trick bandmates, over the course of 20 studio albums and thousands of shows, have been pied pipers to the most devoted fans in history while in some way influencing nearly every alt-rock, arena pop and heavy metal band that followed in their footsteps. As fans since day one, we couldn't be more psyched to work with Rick in promoting his music and shining a light on his unique rock and roll adventure."

For his part, Nielsen added in a statement, "I'd almost given up on the chance of finding a publisher who actually knew all my songs and had a vision for how to keep them alive for another 1,000 years or so.  Turns out, Mark & The Mojo's are it!  I'm looking forward to all the noise we're gonna make together."