Dave Grohl, Quincy Jones Join New NIVA Advisory Board

Dave Grohl
Andreas Neumann

Dave Grohl

The National Independent Venue Association has announced the creation of its new advisory board with members from across the music industry.

The advisory board will further assist both NIVA and the National Independent Venue Foundation (NIVF) with their respective missions, preserving and nurturing the ecosystem of independent live venues and promoters throughout the United States.

Board members include artists such as Dave GrohlKiller MikeNoelle Scaggs of Fitz and the Tantrums and the legendary Quincy Jones. Other members across the industry include See Tickets CEO Boris Patronoff, YouTube & Google global head of music Lyor Cohen, Sony Music Publishing svp of publishing administration Amy Cranford, Lyte CSO Lawrence Peryer and more.

"NIVA may have been founded amidst dire circumstances, but the future of the live industry and the people who inhabit it have always been top of mind," said NIVA executive director and managing partner of Marauder Rev. Moose. "Officially expanding our coalition to include partners new and old, allows us to innately incorporate those who have stood by our side from the very beginning, like Patronoff from See Tickets, and new voices that will help guide the future."

Advisory board members will share their diverse knowledge and professional expertise in streaming, ticketing, management and more to help NIVA and its members navigate the remainder of this pandemic and rebuild the live entertainment ecosystem in a transparent, diverse, and inclusive way.

"When the pandemic first hit it was clear the independent live music community would need to come together and rally for relief," said Patronoff, who will serve as board chair. "Doing just that, a dedicated group of promoters set out to form NIVA and we proudly stepped up to support them. The accomplishments to date have been remarkable and I'm thrilled to serve what I believe will be an important organization for years to come."

Additional board members include mtheory Nashville president Cameo Carlson, artist Christian McBride, Spotify artist and label services' Ed Suwanjindar, Interscope/UMG vp of touring and special events Erika Spieldoch, Symphonic head of corporate marketing Janette Berrios, RIAA COO Michele Suzanne Ballantyne, Music Biz Association president Dr. Portia Sabin, artist Rich Medina, A2IM CEO Richard Burgess, CMA Foundation and vice president of community outreach executive director Tiffany Kerns, eTix CEO Travis Janovich and Tap Management - North America president Wendy Ong.