New York Places New COVID-19 Restrictions in Certain Zones

Times Square
Spencer Platt/Getty Images

Times Square stands mostly empty as as much of the city is void of cars and pedestrians over fears of spreading the coronavirus on March 22, 2020 in New York City.

Responding to rising rates of COVID-19 in certain parts of New York, the state set new restrictions that go into effect starting today, in areas of Central Queens, Southern Brooklyn and Far Rockaway. They are divided into Red, Orange and Yellow zones.

Businesses determined to be non-essential are required to close in the red zone. This zone doesn't include the largest New York film studios such as Steiner Studios in Brooklyn and Silvercup Studios in Long Island City. Also in the red zone, non-essential gatherings "of any size" are not permitted.

"This week we are reminded that the path to reopening is fluid and requires each of us to do our part to insure a safe recovery for our beloved city," wrote Anne del Castillo, commissioner of the Mayor's Office of Media and Entertainment, on the MOME website.

"We must remain vigilant and encourage others to do the same: wear a mask, wash your hands, practice social distancing, stay home if you’re sick, and get tested."

Additional information is available on the City's film permit section of MOME's website.