ASCAP Pop Music Awards: Louis Bell No 'Sucker,' Repeats as Songwriter of the Year in Virtual Edition

Louis Bell
Austin Hargrave

Louis Bell photographed on June 3, 2019 in West Hollywood, Calif. 

Kobalt wins publisher of the year and "Old Town Road" ropes most streamed song in a pandemic-adjusted version of the annual awards.

ASCAP has revealed the winners of its 2020 Pop Music Awards.

Louis Bell has been named ASCAP songwriter of the year for the second year in a row, thanks to hit songs including “Sucker” (Jonas Brothers), “Without Me” (Halsey) and “Goodbyes” (Post Malone feat. Young Thug). Along with the other winners, Bell will accept the award in a video to be shared on ASCAP’s official Twitter and Instagram accounts.

Meanwhile, the Bell co-written "Sucker," published by Sony/ATV, takes home song of the year, while most streamed song of the year goes to Lil Nas X’s “Old Town Road (Remix)” featuring Billy Ray Cyrus. Co-written by Jozzy and Trent Reznor, the track was published by Form and Texture, Kobalt Music and Songs by MPA Music Publishing Accelerator.

Kobalt emerged as the big winner in the publisher of the year category, thanks to hits including Ellie Goulding and Diplo’s “Close to Me” featuring Swae Lee and Maroon 5’s “Memories," while BMG was awarded independent publisher of the year for songs such as Lil Nas X’s “Panini” and Lewis Capaldi’s “Someone You Loved.”

In a video introduction to this year’s virtual celebration, ASCAP chairman of the board and president Paul Williams remarked, “This moment... offers an opportunity for all of us to come together and take action to create a lasting, much-needed transformation in how we treat each other. We believe your music will meet the moment as it has so many times in our nation’s troubled history — by lifting our spirits, giving us hope and inspiring change.”

In addition to remote acceptance speeches from the winners, on June 17 and 18 ASCAP will unveil surprise videos and photos from writers of the most performed songs honorees on its Twitter and Instagram accounts using the hashtag #ASCAPAwards. The virtual celebration will also be supported by this year’s ASCAP Experience: Home Edition, which will spotlight some of the 2020 winners on Thursday with a spate of special online programming, including a panel with songwriter-producer Scott Harris and Island Records senior vp and head of A&R Ziggy Chareton (“Anatomy of a Song: ‘If I Can’t Have You”) and a conversation between producer-songwriters FINNEAS and Glen Hansard.

In addition to the Pop Music Awards, ASCAP has scheduled three other virtual awards shows this summer: the Screen Awards (slated for June 23-25), the Latin Music Awards (July 7-9) and the Rhythm & Soul Music Awards (July 15-17).

The complete ASCAP Pop Music Awards winners’ list can be found here.