Production Music Association to Honor Jim Long, Martha Hanrahan at 2019 Mark Awards: Exclusive

Courtesy of PMA


The production music advocacy group announced its 2019 awards nominees today (Sept. 12).

Production music industry veterans Jim Long and Martha Hanrahan will receive top honors at the Production Music Association's (PMA) 2019 Mark Awards on Sept. 24 in Hollywood. 

Long, who founded FirstCom Music and co-founded publisher OneMusic and record label Honest Entertainment, along with several broadcast and radio syndication companies, will receive the Hall of Fame Award. Hanrahan will receive this year's Ambassador award for her work as longtime head of music at NBC in Los Angeles, where she has supervised the music of all primetime, late-night and Saturday-morning programming. 

“This is a very special night for everyone in production music, and we’re honored to be able to host incredibly talented people like Jim Long, Martha Hanrahan, and so many others from around the world and recognize them for their exceptional accomplishments,” said PMA executive director Morgan McKnight.

The annual awards ceremony will be hosted by Fox Music senior vp and Guild of Music Supervisors co-founder John Houlihan, who has worked on more than 50 feature films including Bohemian RhapsodyDeadpool 2The Shape of Water and Atomic Blonde. At the event, PMA will hand out awards in 30 different categories, with winners selected by a panel of 10 production music peers appointed by the PMA award committee.

“Jim and Martha have contributed so much to our industry, and there aren’t any two more deserving people who the Production Music Association could have selected to recognize with its Hall of Fame and Ambassador awards," said Randy Wachtler of RJW Music Consulting, who is co-founder of the Production Music Association and chair of the Mark Awards. "I’m also looking forward to seeing who takes home awards in all the competitive categories."

View the full, just-announced list of nominees here


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.