Debbie Harry, Johnny Marr & Merlin CEO Charles Caldas Honored At AIM Independent Music Awards

Debbie Harry
Ian West/PA Images via Getty Images

Debbie Harry with the Outstanding Contribution to Music Award at the AIM Independent Music Awards 2019 held at the Roundhouse in London on Sept. 3, 2019.. 

Now in its 20th year, the Association of Independent Music held its 2019 awards on Tuesday (Sept. 3), honoring leading independent artists, labels and industry figures. 

Blondie frontwoman Debbie Harry picked up the award for Outstanding Contribution to Music, while The SmithsJohnny Marr, who also performed, took home the prestigious Pioneer Award trophy.

Elsewhere, English rapper Dave won Best Independent Album for his introspective debut LP Psychodrama, and Best Independent Track for "Funky Friday" featuring Fredo. Five-piece rock band IDLES were also double winners, earning the UK Independent Breakthrough accolade and Best [Difficult] Second Album for Joy as an Act of Resistance, praised for taking aim at everything from toxic masculinity to class inequality.

Partisan Records was awarded Best Independent Label at the ceremony, which took place at London's iconic Roundhouse for the first time. Merlin CEO Charles Caldas, who will step down from his post at the end of 2019, was awarded this year's Indie Champion.

Meanwhile, up-and-coming artists Freya Ridings, Jade Bird and Georgia also picked up honors. View the full list of winners, below.

Best Live Act 
Gerry Cinnamon

Best Small Label 
Scruff of the Neck

Best Creative Packaging
Various Artists, handpicked and curated in collaboration with the Rolling Stones, Confessin’ the Blues

UK Independent Breakthrough 

Outstanding Contribution to Music 
Debbie Harry

Best Independent Album 
Dave, Psychodrama

Best [Difficult] Second Album
IDLES, Joy as an Act of Resistance

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist 
Freya Ridings

International Breakthrough
Jade Bird

Innovator Award 
Allen Kovac

Best Independent Video
Hot Chip, "Hungry Child"

Best Independent Track 
Dave, "Funky Friday (feat. Fredo)"

One To Watch

Best Independent Label
Partisan Records

Pioneer Award 
Johnny Marr

Indie Champion 
Charles Caldas