2019 Juno Week: Music Canada Introduces New Advisory Council, Independent Board Chairs

Jennifer M. Sloan
Quentin Burgess

Newly appointed Chair of the Music Canada Board of Directors Jennifer M. Sloan at Music Canada's chair reception on March 15, 2019.

Acting on the recommendations from a comprehensive organizational review, Music Canada -- which represents the major record companies in Canada and works to support and develop the music sector -- announced its new independent board chair and 15-member advisory council at its chair’s reception on Friday (March 15) in London, Ontario.   

Held at Museum London, part of Juno Week culminating in the Juno Awards, the reception is hosted by the chair of the Juno board, and is invitation-only prior to the larger Juno’s welcome reception at the same venue.   

“The changes announced today are designed to ensure our leadership is guided by a broad spectrum of voices representing the exquisite mosaic that is our music community,” said Music Canada president and CEO Graham Henderson in a statement.  

These initial key steps were taken as a result of a review conducted by Governance Solutions Inc., a firm specializing in inclusion and good governance.

Two new independent member positions will be added to Music Canada’s board of directors, both female, increasing the representation of women to 40 percent. Jennifer M. Sloan, vice-president, public policy at MasterCard Canada, was introduced at the chair’s reception. As the new chair, she will “bring outstanding expertise in corporate governance, finance and accountability, and government relations,” it states in the press release.

“I’m pleased to be joining Music Canada at this pivotal time as the organization heads down a new and exciting path,” Sloan said in a statement. “We’re working to ensure a balance of skills, experience, knowledge and perspectives are represented in our governance and activities.

“The changes announced today will strengthen Music Canada in promoting the interests of our members and their partners, the artists, and to realize our vision for all Canadians to appreciate the power and value of music,” she added.

Sloan then unveiled another outcome of the organizational review, Music Canada’s new advisory council, which will report directly to Henderson. The 15 individuals represent “diverse ethno-cultural backgrounds, sexual identities, and geographic regions -- reflecting Canada’s vibrant and diverse music community,” the release states.

They include Heather Bambrick (artist), Steve Bellamy (Confederation Centre of the Arts), Josh Colle (former Toronto city councilor), Nick Davis (CBC), ShoShona Kish (artist), Amanda Martinez (artist), Miranda Mulholland (artist), Errol Nazareth (CBC), Alicia Rose (TD Bank Group), Mike Schroeder (Nimbus Recording), Alka Sharma (Folk Music Ontario), Eon Sinclair (artist), Darlene Tonelli (Inter Alia Law), Chris Topping (Steady Go Management) and Charlie Wall-Andrews (SOCAN Foundation).

The directive of the council is to evaluate Music Canada’s progress against the stated goals and objectives in its strategic plan, and advise the association on its programs, activities and research as it pertains to its mandate as an agent of change and thought leader in the music community.

“I’m excited to welcome Jennifer Sloan and our new advisory council members to Music Canada to help us build a more robust music ecosystem,” Henderson added. “With the support of our members, Sony, Universal, and Warner, we are committed to reflecting the communities in which we live and work, and to fostering an environment in which music businesses can thrive, and artists can prosper.”


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.