Sony/ATV Signs Worldwide Publishing Deal With Josh Osborne

Courtesy of Sony/ATV
Sony/ATV Music Publishing Logo

The Grammy-winning songwriter is responsible for hits including "Merry Go Round," "Body Like a Backroad" and more.

Sony/ATV Nashville has signed Josh Osborne to a worldwide publishing deal, the company announced on Wednesday (Jan. 9).

"Seldom does a publisher get the opportunity to acquire such a hit-driven catalog and futures deal with a songwriter of Josh’s stature," said Troy Tomlinson, Sony/ATV Nashville President/CEO, in a statement. "An added bonus is that Josh will maintain the successful relationship that he has had for years with his partners at SMACKSongs. Shane [McAnally], Michael [McAnally Baum], Josh [Osborne] and the entire SMACK team have built an impressive company. We are grateful to work with SMACKSongs on Josh’s behalf."

Osborne has had more than 40 singles as a songwriter, including 14 chart-toppers. Four of his songs have received Grammy nominations, with Kacey Musgraves' debut single "Merry Go 'Round" winning best country song at the 56th Grammy Awards. His other hits include "Body Like a Back Road,"  "Leave The Night On," Take Your Time" and "Make You Miss Me" (Sam Hunt); "Come Over," "Get Along" and "All The Pretty Girls" (Kenny Chesney); "Wild Child" (Kenny Chesney feat. Grace Potter); "Setting The World On Fire" (Kenny Chesney feat. P!nk); "My Eyes" and "Sangria" (Blake Shelton); "We Are Tonight" (Billy Currington); "Hotel Key" (Old Dominion); and "Drunk Last Night" (Eli Young Band).