Joyner Lucas, Ryan Hurd & Alec Benjamin Make SiriusXM's 'Future Five' 2019

Joyner Lucas
Jimmy Fontaine

Joyner Lucas

SiriusXM has revealed its annual "Future Five" list of new artists that the satellite radio giant believes will breakthrough in 2019, plus offers an update on its "Class of 2018" success stories.

This year's "Future Five" includes Alec Benjamin, Ice Nine Kills, Dominic Fike, Joyner Lucas and Ryan Hurd. All five of last year's "Future" artists, Alice Merton, Morgan Evans, Two Feet, Rich The Kid and Sofi Tukker, made an impact over the course of the year and are included in the "Class of 2018."

“2018 shaped up to be another great year in music discovery for SiriusXM," said Steve Blatter, senior vp and general manager, music programming, SiriusXM. "We were thrilled to see all of our 'Future Five for 2018' selections graduate to our 'Class of 2018.’ As we move into 2019, our team continues to strive to bring our subscribers even more new music from a wide range of developing artists across all genres."

SiriusXM's "Future Five" for 2019

Alec Benjamin: The Phoenix singer-songwriter made his national radio debut in June 2018 with his track, “Let Me Down Slowly," which has attracted a huge audience via music streaming services (81 million streams on Spotify alone). Prior to the release of his debut album, Narrated for You (Atlantic), "Slowly" was added to Hits 1 (ch. 2)  and The Pulse (ch.15) on SiriusXM.

Ice Nine Kills: The Boston metalcore band got their first national radio exposure in early September when Octane (ch. 37) world premiered “A Grave Mistake," which went on to have 10k downloads and over 1M streams in 4 weeks of Octane’s exclusive airplay. Their sixth album, The Silver Scream (Fearless Records), sold a career-but 16,000 albums in it first week back in October.

Dominic Fike: The Florida native and recent Columbia Records signee got his first national airplay on Alt Nation (ch. 36) on Oct. 18 when his song “3 Nights” was played just days after the release of his Don’t Forget About Me, Demos (EP). According to SiriusXM, national sales and streams have increased in each of the weeks since Alt Nation first began exposing the song (11.5 million streams for "3 Nights" on Spotify -- thanks to its inclusion on the "Today's Top Hits" playlist).

Joyner Lucas: Following his collaboration earlier this year with an up-and-coming rapper named "Eminem" ("Lucky You"), Lucas has scored serious radio airplay with his single "I Love," which has 26 million streams since debuting on SiriusXM. An album via Atlantic Records is expecting in the new year.

Ryan Hurd: SiriusXM's influential The Highway (ch. 56) has been behind Hurd's "Diamonds Or Twine" since its March release, with over 1,160 spins, and millions of streams across digital services. The Highway was also first to support followup single "To a T." The celebrated songwriter -- he's written for Luke Bryan, Blake Shelton and Lady Antebellum, among others -- is working on his debut album via RCA Records Nashville and will perform "Highway Presents" shows in NYC, Chicago and Nashville in 2019.


SiriusXM's Class of 2018

Alice Merton: Her song “No Roots” was a chart success and she has performed on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon.

Morgan Evans: The country singer had a hit with “Kiss Somebody” and The Highway was first to commit airplay to “Day Drunk.”

Two Feet: His song “I Feel Like I’m Drowning” has received more than 46 million streams.

Rich The Kid: Back in April, the rapper debuted at No. 2 on Billboard's Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart with his first studio effort, The World is Yours.

Sofi Tukker: The "“Baby, I’m A Queen” band toured extensively in 2018 behind the release of their album, including TV appearances and festival performances. Their album Treehouse is now Grammy nominated in the Best Dance/Electronic Album category.

Flipp Dinero: "Leave Me Alone"  is currently RIAA certified gold and has been streamed more than 112 million times to date.

Juice WRLD: The rapper celebrated his first No. 1 on Billboard’s Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart with “Lucid Dreams” back in October. The track made an identical move to also crown the Hot Rap Songs chart for the first time.

Rex Orange County: “Loving Is Easy” received first national airplay on Alt Nation’s Advanced Placement and its first commitment to airplay from XMU (ch. 35)

Bad Wolves: Octane (ch. 37) was first national radio outlet to play the band's cover of the Cranberries' “Zombie” and immediately committed airplay to the song. The track went on to top Billboard's Mainstream Rock Songs airplay chart in May.

Morgan Wallen: After leading the nation in support of his 2016 song “The Way I Talk,” The Highway (ch. 56) was the first to commit national airplay to “Up Down ft. Florida Georgia Line” in October 2017. His song "Up Down" peaked at No. 5 on Billboard's Hot Country Songs chart in late June.