BMI Continues Support of Sundance Institute Film Composers Program With Music & Sound Design Lab

BMI Logo 2017
Courtesy of BMI


For the first time, the prestigious lab will include over 50 percent female participants.

BMI will partner with Skywalker Sound to host the Sundance Institute Film Music and Sound Design Lab from July 10–23, the the performance rights organization announced on Thursday (June 28). 

For the first time, the prestigious lab will include over 50 percent female composers, a hefty number for a group that’s underrepresented in this Hollywood climate. The USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism published a recent study by Dr. Stacy Smith that pointed out only 14 female composers have worked on approximately 1,000 films from 2007–2016.

BMI plays a critical role in the lab’s long-term development, in turn helping to enhance many young film composers' careers, as well as hosting an annual roundtable at the Sundance Film Festival in Park City, Utah, that spotlights those who scored films featured at the festival.

“BMI has been a proud supporter of the Sundance Institute Film Music Program since its inception,” said Doreen Ringer-Ross, BMI vice president creative- film, TV & visual media. “The Lab is an inclusive creative development forum that has flourished immensely since partnering with Skywalker. This year, we are especially pleased that over fifty percent of our composer lab Fellows are female.”

Another first for the lab includes combining fiction and documentary films into one program under the initiative of the Institute’s Film Music Program, Feature Film Program and Documentary Film Program. Composers, directors and sound designers will collaborate to make music and sound for the film projects with leading film composers and sound designers acting as creative advisors and mentors for the fellows. At the end of the lab, a live chamber orchestra will perform each composer/director team’s original scores.

The participating composer fellows are Amit May Cohen, Anna Drubich, Carla Patullo, Christy Carew, Dara Taylor, Bill Laurance, Carlos Simon and Rasmus Zwicki