John Prine Signs Worldwide Publishing Deal With Downtown

John Prine
David McClister

John Prine

The agreement also covers the iconic country-folk singer and songwriter's forthcoming album, 'The Tree of Forgiveness,' out April 13.

John Prine has signed a worldwide publishing deal with Downtown, the company announced on Thursday (April 5). 

In the arrangement, Downtown will now rep over 230 compositions from the iconic country-folk singer and songwriter's songbook, which includes the majority of his output as a solo artist, as well as pieces recorded by Johnny Cash, Bonnie Raitt, The Everly Brothers, John Denver, Kris Kristofferson and many others.

Among the best known songs in the catalog are "In Spite Of Ourselves," "That's The Way The World Goes Round," "I Just Want To Dance With You," "Long Monday," "20th Century Is Almost Over" and "Speed Of The Sound Of Loneliness."

The agreement also covers Prine's forthcoming album, The Tree of Forgiveness, featuring his first new material in 13 years, out April 13 via his own Oh Boy Records imprint.

Downtown VP A&R, Nashville Steve Markland said in a statement, "I've known John and his family for quite some time and am so excited for myself and Downtown to officially be apart of the team. Working with John Prine and his vast catalog of timeless, immaculate compositions is truly a career milestone for me. I am simply honored and humbled to be apart of John's great work."

Added Prine: "I'm very pleased to have Downtown represent my catalog of songs. Steve Markland in Nashville has been hugely supportive of our family owned independent label Oh Boy Records. We are looking forward to working with him and whole Downtown team."


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.