T.J. Martell Foundation Appoints 17 to Its Board of Directors

John Esposito
Cameron Powell

John Esposito

The T.J. Martell Foundation, the music industry's largest foundation for cancer, leukemia and AIDS research, has appointed 17 new members to its board of directors and an additional two members to its executive committee. New members of the board include some of the most influential names in the music business, including Warner Music Nashville chairman and CEO John Esposito and Big Machine founder Scott Borchetta.

In March, the foundation appointed Joel A. Katz of Greenberg Traurig as chairman of the board, succeeding founder Tony Martell, who died in November 2016.

At the foundation's annual board meeting, held earlier this month, directors also voted to award $1.3 million in grants to seven hospitals, including Children's Hospital Los Angeles, Columbia University Medical Center, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, and Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University.

"Without the support of the T.J. Martell Foundation, the innovative breakthroughs that we all deserve and fortunately have come to expect as a return on our investment could not have happened," said  Mitchell C. Benson, M.D., Herbert and Florence Irving Professor of Urology at Columbia University Medical Center. "The T.J. Martell Foundation takes educated risks on supporting early-stage research. These risks result in new understanding of cancer, which leads to new treatments and ultimately the great promises of saving lives.”

New National Board of Directors

Craig Balsam, Co-Founder, and CEO of Razor & Tie
Larry Beckwith, Chairman of Iconic Entertainment Group
Scott Borchetta, Founder of Big Machine Label Group
Michael Cohl, CEO  S2BN Entertainment
John Esposito, Chairman & CEO of Warner Music Nashville
Steve Gawley, Executive Vice President, Business & Legal Affairs of Universal Music Group
Steve Greenberg, Founder & President of S-Curve Records
Julie Gurovitsch, Talent Executive, Music for "The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon”
Stanley Lim, Partner at Gelfand Rennert  & Feldman, LLP
Ruby Marchand, Vice President of Repertoire Development at Warner Music Group
Charles B. Ortner, Partner, Entertainment Industry at Proskauer Rose LLP
Jason Owen, President and CEO of Sandbox Entertainment
Don Perry, Business Consultant for Greenberg Traurig
Darren Stupak, Executive Vice President/General Manager of Sales for Sony Music Entertainment
Russell Wallach, President of Media & Sponsorship at Live Nation
Brett Yormark, CEO of Brooklyn Sports and Entertainment
Chaka Zulu, Co-Founder of Disturbing Tha Peace Records

(Scott Borchetta and John Esposito will also serve on the Executive Committee)

The Executive Committee includes: 

John Amato, Co-President of the Hollywood Reporter and Billboard Media Group
Scott Borchetta
Tom Corson, president/COO of RCA Records 
John Esposito
Jody Gerson, Chairman and CEO of Universal Music Publishing
Monte Lipman, Founder and CEO of  Republic Records 
Julie Swidler, EVP, Business Affairs & General Counsel for Sony Music Entertainment
Marcus Peterzell, Partner, EVP Entertainment, Ketchum Sports & Entertainment (President)
Rick  Krim, Co-President, Sony/ATV U.S. Music Publishing (Vice-President)
Julie Talbott, President,  Premiere  Networks  (Vice-President)
Charlie Feldman, Vice President, Writer/Publisher Relations (Secretary)
David Satler, Chief Operating Officer, Barclays Wealth Management & Investment Management, Americas (Treasurer)


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.