Songwriters Hall: Caroline Bienstock to Receive Abe Olman Publisher Award

Caroline Bienstock, President and Chief Executive Officer of Carlin America, Inc.
Don Hunstein

Caroline Bienstock, President and Chief Executive Officer of Carlin America, Inc.

Caroline Bienstock, the president and CEO of independent publisher Carlin America, has been selected to receive the prestigious Abe Olman Publisher Award at the upcoming Songwriters Hall of Fame induction ceremony, slated for June 15 in New York City.

The award, named for one of the hall's founders, is dedicated to music publishers who help further the careers of their company's roster of songwriters. Previous recipients include Martin Bandier, Maxyne Lang, Ed Murphy, Ralph Peer, Milt Okun and Caroline's father Freddy Bienstock, among others.

"[Bienstock] has music business blood flowing in her veins from both of her parents," said SHOF president and CEO Linda Moran. "She has taken a leading role in Carlin America for close to three decades. Caroline is highly regarded by her peers, colleagues and songwriters and is a visible industry leader who serves with distinction on many organization boards while ably guiding Carlin, one of the pre-eminent family-owned independent publishers in the world."

Freddy Bienstock, who notably owned Chappell Music before selling it to Time Warner, named his family publishing company Carlin Music for his daughter. Caroline's mother, Miriam Bienstock, was a glass ceiling-shattering music executive who co-founded Atlantic Records with Ahmet Ertegun and her then-husband Herb Abramson. (Billboard famously headlined a 1958 article about her: "Atlantic's 'Money Man' Is a Woman".)

At Carlin America, Caroline Bienstock runs all aspects of its publishing business, including building the catalog, which includes songs by AC/DC, Chubby Checker and others, as well as licensing, administration and writer development. She's also a member of the board of directors of both the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers? (ASCAP) and the National Music Publishers Association (NMPA).

"Caroline Bienstock has turned her parent’s legacy into a thriving independent company, and her receiving the Abe Olman Publisher Award rightly recognizes the songs and songwriters she has shepherded who have profoundly affected the industry," said NMPA president David Israelite in a statement. "We have been the beneficiaries of her experience and insight on the NMPA Board for the past nine years, and we are thrilled to congratulate her on this much-deserved honor."

Others to be honored at this year's hall of fame gala, taking place June 15 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in NYC, include Ed Sheeran (Hal David Starlight Award) and Pitbull (Global Ambassador Award), as well as the 2017 songwriter inductees Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds, Berry Gordy, Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis, Robert Lamm & James Pankow p/k/a "Chicago," Max Martin and  Shawn "Jay Z" Carter.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.