Cameron Graves, Joey DeFrancesco and Billy Childs Sign With Mack Avenue Records: Exclusive

Cameron Graves
Anna Webber

Cameron Graves

Christmas is starting early for Mack Avenue Records. The independent jazz label has added acclaimed artists Cameron Graves, Joey DeFrancesco and Billy Childs to its roster. All three will release new albums in 2017.

Graves, pianist and founding member of West Coast Get Down, will release his anticipated debut album on Feb. 24. The eight-track Planetary Prince, originally a four-song EP, will feature such longtime collaborators as saxophonist Kamasi Washington, trumpeter Philip Dizack, trombonist Ryan Porter, bassist Stephen “Thundercat” Bruner, bassist Hadrien Feraud and drummer Ronald Bruner Jr.

Jazz organist Joey DeFrancesco will release Project Freedom, his first-ever quartet album, on March 10. Touring as Joey DeFrancesco & the People in 2017, the musician will be joined by guitarist Dan Wilson, saxophonist Troy Roberts and drummer Jason Brown.

Childs returns to his jazz roots on the aptly titled Rebirth arriving March 24. The four-time Grammy Award-winning pianist plays with saxophonist Steve Wilson, bassist Hans Glawischnig and drummer Eric Harland. Special guests include vocalists Alicia Olatuja and Claudia Acuna, trombonist Ido Meshulam and percussionist Rogerio Boccato. His first album under the Mack Avenue banner also marks the 40th anniversary of Childs’ recording debut with legendary trombonist J.J. Johnson, who died in 2001.

Mack Avenue, which acquired the MAXJAZZ label earlier this year, is headed by president Denny Stilwell.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.