Polaris Prize Announces 2016 Long List Including Drake, Peaches, Grimes, Justin Bieber, Suuns

Timothy Hiatt/Getty Images
Grimes performs at the 2016 Bunbury festival on June 5, 2016 in Cincinnati, Ohio. 

Justin Bieber, Drake, Daniel Caesar, City and Colour, Carly Rae Jepsen, Peaches, Grimes, Jazz Cartier, Majid Jordan, Pup, the Strumbellas and The Weeknd are among the 40 artists whose albums comprise the 2016 Polaris Music Prize long list, which recognizes Canada's album of the year as voted on by a jury of selected experts.

The announcement was made today from Whitehorse, Yukon and webcast on the Polaris Music Prize’s Facebook page live from the Yukon Transportation Museum and produced in conjunction with Yukon’s Film & Sound Commission. 

A 192-member jury -- comprised of music journalists, broadcasters and music bloggers from across Canada -- selected 183 titles on the first ballot, which asks for their top 5 picks.  The albums are judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre, record sales or professional affiliation.  The eligibility period for the titles is from June 1, 2015 to May 31, 2016. 

The short list will be announced at Toronto’s Carlu on July 14th, and the winner at the end of the Polaris Gala on Sept. 19, as decided by a closed-door grand jury of 11.

The winner receives $50,000 (CAD) and the nine other short listed artists $3,000 courtesy of Slaight Music. 

Past winners of the prize are: Buffy Sainte-Marie (2015), Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007), and Final Fantasy / Owen Pallett (2006).
The 2016 Polaris Music Prize Long List:
Art Bergmann -- The Apostate
Justin Bieber -- Purpose
Black Mountain -- IV
Jean-Michel Blais -- II
Basia Bulat -- Good Advice
Daniel Caesar -- Pilgrim’s Paradise
Tanika Charles -- Soul Run
City and Colour -- If I Should Go Before You
Coeur de pirate -- Roses
Dead Obies -- Gesamtkunstwerk
Destroyer -- Poison Season
Dilly Dally -- Sore
Drake -- VIEWS
Essaie pas -- Demain est une autre nuit
Fred Fortin -- Ultramarr
FOXTROTT -- A Taller Us
Grimes -- Art Angels
Half Moon Run -- Sun Leads Me On
Veda Hille -- Love Waves
Jazz Cartier -- Hotel Paranoia
Carly Rae Jepsen -- E•MO•TION
Junior Boys -- Big Black Coat
Kaytranada -- 99.90%
Jessy Lanza -- Oh No
Majid Jordan -- Majid Jordan
Michelle McAdorey -- Into Her Future
Nap Eyes -- Thought Rock Fish Scale
Safia Nolin -- Limoilou
Operators -- Blue Wave
Peaches -- Rub
PUP -- The Dream Is Over
Daniel Romano -- Mosey
Andy Shauf -- The Party
The Strumbellas -- HOPE
Suuns -- Hold/Still
U.S. Girls -- Half Free
Un Blonde -- Good Will Come To You
The Weeknd -- Beauty Behind the Madness
White Lung -- Paradise
Donovan Woods -- Hard Settle, Ain’t Trouble