SESAC Pop Awards: UMPG's Jimmy Napes Wins Top Honors (Again)

 Shawn Ehlers/Getty Images for SESAC

Jimmy Napes attends the 2016 SESAC Pop Music Awards on April 18, 2016 in New York City.

Universal Music Publishing Group cleaned up at the 20th annual SESAC Pop Awards in New York City on Monday night, sweeping the three biggest honors for the second consecutive year. UMPG won publisher of the year and writer Jimmy "Napes" Napier captured both songwriter and song of the year nods for his track "I'm Not the Only One," a top-5 hit for Sam Smith.

Other winning songs for UMPG include AlunaGeorge's "You Know You Like It" and Mumford & Sons' "The Wolf." Napes won the same songwriter nods at last year's awards, for Smith's "Stay With Me."

"It's a very special thing when a music publisher, and their hit songwriters, repeat winning all the major awards at the SESAC Pop Awards. Congratulations to all of our songwriters, especially Jimmy Napier for being named Songwriter of The Year and winning Song of The Year for the second consecutive year. Very rare and so well deserved," said Evan Lamberg, UMPG President, North America.

Full list of UMPG's winning songs:

"I'm Not The Only One" (Napes)
"Lay Me Down" (Napes and Elvin Smith)
"Believe" (Mumford & Sons)
"The Wolf" (Mumford & Sons)
"You Know You Like It" (AlunaGeorge)
"Love Myself" (Oscar Holter)
"Should've Been Us" (Oscar Holter)
"Stay With Me"(Napes and Tourist)
"Latch" (Napes and Disclosure)


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.