FKA Twigs, Run the Jewels, Beggars Group Lead Libera Awards Nominations

FKA Twigs, 2014
Dorothy Hong

FKA Twigs photographed on Aug. 6, 2014 by Dorothy Hong at Webster Hall in New York City.

FKA Twigs, Run the Jewels and Aphex Twin are among the leading nominees for this year's 4th Annual Libera Awards, nicknamed the LIBBYs, a celebration of the independent music scene that caps A2IM's Indie Week conference held next month in New York City.

Among labels, Beggars Group (4AD, Matador, XL, Young Turks) leads with 11 nominations, including four for FKA Twigs; Warp Records follows with six nods, with three for Aphex Twin; and Mass Appeal has five, thanks to four nominations for Run the Jewels. All three of those artists are up for Album of the Year, a category that also includes two Sub Pop artists. "Were it within our control, we'd give Sleater-Kinney and Father John Misty every possible award," said label co-founder Jonathan Poneman.

Record Store Day Sets 12-Year Sales High for Indies

For this year's Video of the Year Award, fans will get to help determine the winner simply by watching the music videos on YouTube, which is sponsoring the category. The nominees are Die Antwoord "Ugly Boy"; FKA Twigs "Two Weeks"; Flying Lotus "Never Catch Me" (featuring Kendrick Lamar); Jungle "Time"; OK Go "I Won’t Let You Down", and tUnE-yArDs "Water Fountain."

Nominees are chosen and voted on by select members of the independent music industry themselves.

The Libera Awards will be held at the Highline Ballroom in NYC on June 25. Two-time Libera Award winner Charles Bradley is set to perform and AIM CEO Alison Wenham will receive the first-ever Appleseed Award, which was created to honor her trailblazing contributions to the indie community.

See the full list of nominees:

Hardest Working Artist of the Year
Andy Grammer (S-Curve)
Father John Misty (Sub Pop)
Future Islands (4AD)
Pop Evil (eOne)
Run the Jewels (Mass Appeal)
Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings (Daptone)
Steve Earle (New West)

Best Sync Usage (sponsored by Silva Screen/So Recordings)
Family of the Year "Hero" (usage: 'Boyhood') (Nettwerk)
FKA Twigs "Video Girl" (usage: Google Glass Commercial) (Young Turks)
Hudson Mohawke "Chimes" (usage: Apple MacBook Air Ad: 'The Notebook People Love') (Warp)
Nick Waterhouse "Times All Gone" (usage: Lexus Commercial) (Innovative Leisure)
Passenger "Let Her Go" (usage: Budweiser Puppy Bowl) (Nettwerk)
Syl Johnson "I'm Talking About Freedom" (usage: Nike Free SB Commercial) (Numero Group)
tUnE-yArDs "Water Foundtain" (usage: Sonos Commercial) (4AD)
Woody Guthrie "This Land Is Your Land" (usage: 'Sonic Highways') (Smithsonian Folkways)

Marketplace Ally
The Orchard
Record Store Day

Independent Champion

Creative Packaging Award (sponsored by A to Z Media)
Aphex Twin 'Syro' (Warp)
As Tall As Lions 'As Tall As Lions' (Triple Crown)
Belle and Sebastian 'Girls in Peacetime Want to Dance' (Matador)
Ibeyi 'Ibeyi' (XL)
Leadbelly 'The Smithsonian Folkways Collection' (Smithsonian Folkways)
Panda Bear 'Panda Bear Meets the Grim Reaper' (Domino)
Various Artists 'Warfaring Strangers: Darkscorch Canticles' (Numero Group)

Marketing Genius Award
311 'STER3OL1TH1CPledgeMusic album release campaign (marketing lead: Rich Lyne) (311 Music)
Aphex Twin 'Syro' album release campaign (marketing lead: Steven Hill) (Warp)
Little Dragon '1-800-NABUMA' campaign (marketing lead: Adam Farrell) (Loma Vista)
Run the Jewels 'Meow the Jewels / Tag the Jewels' (marketing lead: Run the Jewels) (Mass Appeal)
Various Artists 'Or Thousands of Prizes: Merge 25' Campaign (marketing lead: Becky Mormino) (Merge)
Various Artists 'Ten Bands One Cause: Pink Vinyl' (marketing lead: Alex Brody) (RED)
William Onyeabor 'William Onyeabor Box Set' campaign (marketing lead: Eric Welles Nystrom) (Luaka Bop)

Groundbreaking Album of the Year  (sponsored by INgrooves)
Azealia Banks, Broke With Expensive Taste (Prospect Park)
Benjamin Booker, Benjamin Booker (ATO)
Caribou, Our Love (Merge)
FKA Twigs, LP1 (Young Turks)
Flying Lotus, You're Dead! (Warp)
John Luther Adams, Become Ocean (Cantaloupe Music)
Run the Jewels, Run the Jewels 2 (Mass Appeal)

Heritage Album of the Year
Dr. John, Ske-Dat-De-Dat: The Spirit of Satch (Concord Records)
Lucinda Williams, Down Where The Spirit Meets the Bone (Highway 20 Records/Thirty Tigers)
Miles Davis, Prestige 10" LP Collection, V.1 (Prestige/Fantasy)
Naomi Shelton & The Gospel Queens, Cold World (Daptone)
Nikki Lane, All of Nothin (New West)
Shovels & Rope, Swimmin Time (Dualtone)
Sturgill Simpson, Metamodern Sounds in Country Music (High Top Mountain/Thirty Tigers)

Breakthrough Artist of the Year
Alvvays (Polyvinyl)
Chet Faker (Downtown)
Kygo (Ultra)
Mac Demarco (Captured Tracks)
MisterWives (Photo Finish)
Sturgill Simpson (High Top Mountain/Thirty Tigers)
Viet Cong (Jagjaguwar)

Video of the Year  (sponsored by YouTube)
Die Antwoord "Ugly Boy" (Zef Records/Kobalt Label Services)
FKA Twigs "Two Weeks" (Young Turks)
Flying Lotus "Never Catch Me" (feat. Kendrick Lamar) (Warp)
Jungle "Time" (XL)
OK Go "I Won't Let You Down" (BMG Rights Management)
tUnE-yArDs "Water Fountain" (4AD)

Album of the Year (sponsored by Fox Rothschild LLP)
Aphex Twin, Syro (Warp)
Ex Hex, Rips (Merge)
Father John Misty, I Love You, Honeybear (Sub Pop)
FKA Twigs, LP1 (Young Turks)
Run the Jewels, Run the Jewels 2 (Mass Appeal)
Sleater-Kinney, No Cities to Love (Sub Pop)
Spoon, They Want My Soul (Loma Vista)
Taylor Swift, 1989 (Big Machine)
Tycho, Awake (Ghostly International)
The War on Drugs, Lost In the Dream (Secretly Canadian)

Label of the Year (5 or Less Employees) (sponsored by The Orchard)
Dangerbird Records
Daptone Records
Ghostly International
Kill Rock Stars
Innovative Leisure
Lindseystomp Music
Loma Vista Recordings
Mass Appeal Records

Label of the Year (6 or More Employees) (sponsored by ADA)
Big Machine
Hopeless Records
Partisan Records
Secretly Canadian
Sub Pop
Thirty Tigers


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.