New Order Signs Worldwide Publishing Deal With Universal Music

Getty Images for Coachella

New Order performs onstage during day 2 of the 2013 Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival at the Empire Polo Club on April 13, 2013 in Indio, California.

Legendary synthpop band New Order has inked an exclusive, worldwide administration deal with Universal Music Publishing to represent the group's core material. UMP's creative director Darryl Watts oversaw the pact, which covers the New Order catalog from the original members, including classic '80s albums Power, Corruption & Lies, Brotherhood and Technique, and songs including "Blue Monday," "Regret" and "True Faith."

New Order was formed in 1980 by former Joy Division members Bernard Sumner, Peter Hook and Stephen Morris, as well as Gillian Gilbert. The band released eight studio albums before Hook's departure in 2007; a ninth album, which included older recordings with the bassist, arrived in 2013. Last September the group signed a record deal with indie label Mute Records for their next album.

New Order Signs Mute Records Deal, Plans New Release in 2015

So, how does it feel to be represented by Universal? Pretty good if you ask Hook.

"When you get to 58 there aren't many momentous occasions in your life, but I had one recently," said Hook in a statement. "Our publishing was up for renewal and Darryl Watts at Universal (who are doing a wonderful job with Joy Division) said to me 'I've been waiting 20 years for this moment'…and you know what... so had I!"

Watts added that "bands like New Order are the reason I first fell in love with music, and the privilege of working on signings like this is the reason I still do. They have always been true innovators. Put simply, they have an incredible set of songs and I'm absolutely delighted that we're representing them."