Wendy & Lisa to Receive ASCAP's Inaugural Shirley Walker Award

Vince Bucci/Invision for the Television AcademyAP Images
Composers Wendy Melvoin (L) and Lisa Coleman attend "SCORE! A Concert Celebrating Music Composed for Television" presented by the Television Academy at UCLA's Royce Hall on Wednesday, May 21, 2014, in Los Angeles.

Wendy Melvoin and Lisa Coleman will receive the inaugural ASCAP Shirley Walker Award at the performing rights organization’s 29th annual Film & Television Music Awards on June 25.
Named for the first prominent female film and TV composer, the Shirley Walker Award is given to those whose achievements have contributed to the diversity of film and television music.
Wendy & Lisa, as they have been known since their days in Prince’s band the Revolution, have been working on films since 1995 when they scored “Dangerous Minds.” Their TV credits include “Crossing Jordan,” “Touch” and “Heroes”; they won an Emmy in 2010 for “Nurse Jackie.”
"Their music sets new standards for excellence, and their achievements have inspired a generation of female composers looking to follow their lead,” says Shawn LeMone, ASCAP vice president of Film & TV/Visual Media.
The ASCAP Film and Television Music Awards will be held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel and will honor composers of the top box office film music, the most performed television music and the top video game music of 2013.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.