New Signings: Rufus Wainwright to CAM, ICM Signs T-Pain, Epitaph Inks Roll the Tanks, O.A.R. Joins Reach Music

Here’s a look at the latest artist signings across the music industry, including record labels, artist management firms, publishing companies, booking agencies and more.   



-- Brazilian singer/songwriter Bebel Gilberto signs with Sony Music Masterworks imprint Portrait Records. Her new album, Tudo!,” will be released through the label on July 29. The album will coincide with an international trek. 

-- Atlantic Records inks dance-pop act Inna, who recently released the TJR-produced single “Cola Song," featuring JBalvin. The Romanian-born artist is currently touring overseas through the summer. She is the first European female solo act to surpass 1 billion individual views on YouTube, according to a news release. 

-- Rock band Roll the Tanks joins the Epitaph roster and will release its 13-track debut album, “Broke Til Midnight,” through the label on May 27. “Roll The Tanks write the kind of songs that make you want to be a songwriter,” Epitaph CEO Brett Gurewitz said in a statement, noting musical similarities to Joe Strummer, Pixies, Tom Petty and the Kinks. 

-- Polyvinyl Records nabs Alvvays. The label describes the group as “two women, three men, a crate of C-86 tapes and a love of jingle-jangle.” Alvvays is signed to Royal Mountain Records in Canada.

-- Nettwerk Music Group welcomes Australian singer-songwriter Stu Larsen to its label roster. Stu will release his full-length debut, “Vagabond” (co-produced by Chris Vallejo and Mike Rosenberg), July 15 on Nettwerk Records. The artist will embark on a North American club tour in May.  

-- Sub Pop inks psychedelic group Goat for North America. The Swedish band recently played Coachella and is lined up for other summer fests, including Bonnaroo and NXNE in Toronto. 

-- Rock band Kix signs with Loud & Proud Records to release its first album in nearly two decades. The forthcoming set -- featuring the band’s original lineup, with the exclusion of new bassist Mark Schenker -- will be released on July 22. 

-- Hardcore acts Elitist and Capsize join Equal Vision Records. Elitist will head into the studio in May to record its second album with co-producers Daniel Braunstein and Julian Rodriguez. Capsize, meanwhile, will hit the studio in May to record its full-length debut with producer Jay Maas. 

-- Merge welcomes Spider Bags and Hiss Golden Messenger to its roster. Spider Bags is expected to release a full-length album on Merge later this summer. 



-- Jordan Feldstein and Mark Adelman sign iconic performer Rufus Wainwright to Career Artist Management (CAM). Wainwright has been recording a new album in New York and is not signed to a record label. The artist is currently on a greatest hits tour. Other CAM clients include Maroon 5, Robin Thicke and Big Boi.



-- Singer-songwriter Jesse McCartney signs with INgrooves for distribution and INresidence Artist Services for marketing. McCartney plans to release a new album in July. 



-- Singer-songwriter/rapper/producer T-Pain signs with ICM Partners in all areas. In early March, Billboard exclusively announced the launch of the artist’s 34-date I Am T-Pain tour, which is visiting North American venues through June. T-Pain will release his fifth solo album, "Stoicville: The Phoenix," later this year. The artist is managed by Terrence Huggins and was previously repped by Paradigm (U.S.) and CODA (international). ICM also recently signed classical crossover singer Jackie Evancho

-- The Agency Group inks American Football (responsible agents: Justin Bridgewater/Tom Taaffe), Atomic Bomb! the Music of William Onyeabor (Todd Walker), EPICA (Dan Rozenblum), Landau Eugene Murphy Jr. (Justin Hill/Colin Lewis), Waldo (Noah Simon/Jonathan Brik) and Mylets (Justin Bridgewater/Zaed Maqbool) to its roster of musical acts. 

-- The Windish Agency adds: Mineral (responsible agent: Ryan Craven), Nimmo and the Gauntletts (Tom Windish), Plaitum (Windish), Snakehips (Avery McTaggart, Latane Hughes), the Celestics (Evan Hancock), Virginia (Ryan Smith), Dauwd (Smith), SINKANE (Todd Walker), the Jane Doze (Chris Baronner), GoldLink (Windish, Joe Hadley), Moonrise Nation (Walker), SoKo (Windish), Lapland (John Bongiorno) and Russian Red (Walker). 

-- The Billions Corporation welcomes to its roster Matthew E. White (responsible agent: Shannin Porter), Landlady (Porter), Hiss Golden Messenger (Adam Voith), Blank Range (Voith), D.D Dumbo (Voith) and Dub Thompson (Andrew Morgan). 



-- Warner/Chappell Music (WCM) signs a worldwide co-publishing deal with songwriter Jay Joyce, who has written and produced for Cage the Elephant, Eric Church, Little Big Town, Keith Urban and others. WCM has also inked a similar agreement with Joyce’s new publishing venture, Neon Cross. The company, which will sign and develop new talent, recently named music industry vet Melissa Spillman director of publishing.  

-- Reach Music Publishing enters into publishing deals with songwriter/producer Larry Nach; producer/songwriter Goonrock; producer/songwriter/engineer Noah Goldstein; rapper Dirt Nasty; rock band O.A.R.; and songwriter Jay Lyriq. Additionally, Orange Factory Music, led by producer/founder Jeremy Skaller, and Reach Music, have partnered on agreements for songwriter Jamil “Digi” Chammas and arranger/songwriter Jonathan Perkins.