BMI Head Del Bryant to be Presented with Visionary Leadership Award at Songwriters Hall of Fame

Industry vet to receive the prestigious honor at Induction and Awards Dinner, June 12 in New York City.

BMI President Del Bryant will become only the second individual honored with the Visionary Leadership Award at the 45th Annual Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Dinner, Thursday, June 12 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York.

The honor recognizes member of the Hall of Fame Board of Directors who has made a significant contribution in furthering the ongoing mission of the organization. Chairman Emeritus Hal David was the inaugural, and to this point, only recipient of the award. 

“Born into songwriting royalty and a songwriter himself, Del has spent a lifetime championing songwriters,” said organization president/ceo Linda Moran.  “In the past decade, Del’s personal and professional contributions as a dedicated svp of the board of directors of the Songwriters Hall of Fame have enabled us to achieve our early goals and to continue to expand the ongoing mission of the organization.”

Bryant succeeded the late Frances Preston as president/ceo of BMI in 2004, and has been instrumental in making it the world’s premier global rights management organization. Under his leadership, BMI represents more than 600,000 songwriters, composers and music publishers in all genres of music and more than 8.5 million musical works, and has distributed more than $814 million in royalties for its 2013 fiscal year, representing Maroon 5, Taylor Swift, Pink, Lady Gaga, Casting Crowns,, Adele, Rihanna, A$AP Rocky, the Black Keys, Jack White, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Pitbull, the Lumineers, Shakira, Don Omar, Florida Georgia Line, Fun., the Band Perry, Miranda Lambert and Jason Aldean.

Among Bryant’s accomplishments are leading BMI’s Film and Television department in L.A. to a predominant position in the presentation of Hollywood’s leader composers.  Bryant directed the establishment of a Latin music division, a first among American performing rights organizations.  He also led the effort in establishing an R&B/hip-hop music division, paving the way for a genre that has now become a major category in the BMI repertoire.  Bryant played the leading role in re-engineering and modernizing BMI’s royalty distribution system, and directed the implementation of the structure introduced in 1987 as part of an aggressive writer acquisition campaign that included major components in marketing, advertising, industry media relations and events.

Bryant is the son of legendary songwriters and publishers Boudleaux and Felice Bryant, who penned such classics as “Bye Bye Love,” “Wake Up Little Susie,” “All I Have To Do Is Dream,” “Love Hurts” and the Tennessee state song, “Rocky Top.”

He is a member of the Board of Directors of BMI, CISAC the Songwriters Hall of Fame, the Broadcasters Foundation of America, the Blair School of Music, board member and former Chairman of FastTrack and a member of the Broadcast and Cable Hall of Fame.

Inductees at this year’s event include Ray Davies, Donovan, Graham Gouldman, Mark James and Jim Weatherly. The prestigious Johnny Mercer Award will be presented to Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff; Doug Morris will be honored with the Hitmaker Award and Imagine Dragons’ Dan Reynolds will receive the Hal David Starlight Award.