New Edie Brickell Tunes Appear on 'Way, Way Back' Soundtrack


Two new songs from Edie Brickell, “For The Time Being” and “Go Where The Love Is,” appear on the soundtrack to Fox Searchlight’s “The Way, Way Back” that opens July 5. Columbia Records will release the soundtrack on July 2.

Brickell, currently on tour with Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers, has been actively recording the last few years, releasing four albums since 2011 after an eight-year absence.

The two new songs, which open and close the film, were written specifically for the film starring Liam James, Toni Collette, SteveCarell and Zoe Levin.

The soundtrack also features tracks from newer rootsy acts the Apache Relay, Trampled By Turtles and Wild Belle plus classics from Mr. Mister, INXS and Robert Palmer. Writer/directors Nat Faxon and Jim Rash produced the soundtrack along with music supervisor Linda Cohen.

Track listing for “The Way, Way Back: Music From The Motion Picture”

1.   “For the Time Being” – Edie Brickell and the Gaddabouts
2.   “Kyrie” – Mr. Mister
3.   “Out the Door” – Ben Kweller
4.   “Come and See” – Young Galaxy
5.   “Running Wild – Army Navy
6.   “Young Blood” – UFO
7.   “Shine” – Wild Belle
8.   “New Sensation” – INXS
9.   “Sneakin’ Sally Thru the Alley” – Robert Palmer
10. “Young At Heart” – Tim Myers featuring Rondo Brothers
11. “Recess” – Eli “Paperboy” Reed
12. “Power Hungry Animals” – The Apache Relay
13. “Alone” – Trampled By Turtles
14. “Go Where The Love Is” – Edie Brickell and the Gaddabouts
15. “The Way Way Back” – Rob Simonsen


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.