Litefoot, Secody Among Nammy Winners

Blackfire, Martinez also honored.

Eli Secody, Blackfire, Yolanda Martinez and Litefoot were among the top winners at the seventh annual Native American Music Awards. Hosted by actor Adam Beach, this year's event was held last night (Feb. 10) at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Hollywood, Fla.

Actor/musician Litefoot was named artist of the year. Martinez received the best female artist accolade, which Secody claimed the prize in the male category. Socially conscious trio Blackfire was named group of the year, while Jay Nez netted the debut artist of the year award. Other notable winners included Felipe Rose as songwriter of the year and Jim Boyd's "Going to the Stick Games" as record of the year. The award for best Gospel/Christian recording went to Rezawrecktion's "It's About Time."

The awards are voted on by the members of the Native American Music Assn. The organization was instrumental in lobbying for the addition of the Native music Grammy category, which was added in 2001 and maintains the nation's largest Native American music archive.