Van Morrison's Exile Label Links With UMG

New album due in May.

Van Morrison has reunited with Universal Music Group through a licensing deal for his label Exile Music. The veteran Northern Irish singer/songwriter has delivered a new album, "Magic Time," which will street May 16 in the United Kingdom on Exile/Polydor. Geffen will release it the following day in North America.

UMG will simultaneously release the album as a download across its Internet partner services.

Produced by Morrison, the new set follows 2003's "What's Wrong With This Picture?" on Blue Note/EMI. Before that, Universal released his full-length "Down The Road" in 2002.

The new album contains 13 tracks, of which 10 are original Morrison compositions. It is rounded out with interpretations of the jazz standards "I'm Confessin'," "This Love of Mine" and "Lonely and Blue."

In support of the release, UMG has built the artist's first official Web site. Starting in April, the service will incorporate a store enabling users to pre-order physical versions of the new album and purchase catalog releases.

"Magic Time" coincides with the 40-year anniversary of Morrison's first hits with his band Them, which scored two U.K. top-10 singles on Decca in 1965, "Baby Please Don't Go" (backed with the classic anthem "Gloria") and "Here Comes the Night."