Six Hosts Set For GMA Awards

Syndicated show set for April.

Steven Curtis Chapman, CeCe Winans, Rebecca St. James, Smokie Norful, Darlene Zschech and Israel Houghton have been tapped as hosts for the 36th Annual GMA Music Awards, set for April 13 at Nashville's Grand Ole Opry House.

The GMA Music Awards, also known as the Dove Awards, have traditionally had two hosts. This year's numerous hosts "reflect the diversity, creativity and boldness that have helped to raise the profile of gospel music in our culture today," according to GMA president John Styll.

The GMA also announced that Chicago's Central City Productions will handle first-run syndication through network affiliates and independent stations nationwide. The show will air in syndication in June and is expected to reach at least 75% of U.S. television households. Nashville-based TV veteran Steve Gilreath will be producing the awards.

There will be a new format for this year's show. The evening was previously divided into a pre-show segment, featuring distribution of most of the 44 awards, and the main show, which primarily featured performances. The Doves this year will be one show with both performances and award presentations. The six hosts will team up in pairs to introduce the performances and presenters.

Tickets for the live show are on sale through