Tejano Awards Press On

Garza top winner amid shrinking format.

Grammy-winning artist David Lee Garza was the top winner at the 2005 Tejano Music Awards, held Saturday (March 19) at the Kickapoo Lucky Eagle Casino in Eagle Pass, Texas.

Garza -- who records on his own label, DLG -- took home best song honors for "No Puedo Estar Sin Ti," best album nod for "Solo Contigo," and best crossover song with "Who's That Gringo?"

This is the first year that the award show was held outside of San Antonio, which has long been acknowledged as the world capitol of Tejano music. Awards president Robert Arellano said the move to border city Eagle Pass was a way for the organization to shore up support for the Tejano music industry.

"We're trying everything we can to move forward and bring more young people into Tejano the way it used to be in its glory years," Arellano told Billboard.biz.

Like last year, the Tejano market is experiencing a steady decline with shuttered nightclubs and plummeting CD sales. Though the venue sold out of its 4,500 seats, according to officials, the number is a considerable step down for the event.

Other winners included Grammy-winning artist Jimmy Gonzalez y Mazz for best Tejano album with "Para Mi Gente" (Freddie Records); Shelly Lares for both female entertainer and female vocalist; and Jay Pérez for male entertainer and male vocalist.

Also during the ceremony, art teacher Rudy Trevino and saxophonist Gilbert Escobedo were inducted into the Tejano Music Hall of Fame. Both were among the founders of the awards in 1981.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.