ASCAP To Honor Young, Dupri

Pop awards will take place May 16.

ASCAP will honor Neil Young and Jermaine Dupri at its 22nd annual Pop Music Awards on May 16 in Los Angeles. Young will receive the Founders Award, which honors pioneering songwriters. Past recipients include Elvis Costello, James Taylor, Tom Waits and Stevie Wonder.

Dupri, president of Virgin Records' Urban division, will receive the Golden Note Award, which honors songwriters for extraordinary milestones in their careers. He joins previous honorees Stevie Wonder, Garth Brooks, Jay-Z and others.