Exclusive: Dance Music Hall Of Fame 2005 Inductees

Dance Music Summit starts for Sept. 19.

This year's Billboard Dance Music Summit kicks off September 19 and will feature panelists like DJ Rap, Armani Exchange's Patrick Doddy and Warner Brothers' Orlando Puerta as well as the induction of a new set of legends into the Dance Music Hall Of Fame, during a ceremony at New York's Manhattan Center.

Here's an exclusive look at the 2005 inductees: Chic, Gloria Gaynor and Sylvester (artists); Bee Gees – "Stayin' Alive," Cheryl Lynn – "Got To Be Real," Chic – "Good Times," Gloria Gaynor – "I Will Survive," and The Trammps – "Disco Inferno" (songs); François K., Frankie Knuckles and John"Jellybean" Benitez (DJs); Kenny Gamble & Leon Huff, Nile Rodgers & Bernard Edwards, and Quincy Jones (producers); and François K again, as the sole remixer.

"The Dance Music Hall of Fame was founded to honor the pioneers of this overlooked genre; to recognize the significant accomplishments made by the DJs, remixers, producers and artists," says DMHF board member Eddie O'Loughlin. "[Dance staples like] long versions, remixes and mix show radio were all developed by our nominees."