2019 American Music Awards

Dove Nominees For Songwriter Of The Year Revealed

Kirk Franklin, Mark Hall, Mat Kearney, Mac Powell and Aaron Shust are the final nominees for the Gospel Music Assn.'s Dove Award for songwriter of the year. The winner will be announced at the GMA Dove Awards on April 25 at Nashville's Grand Ole Opry House. The event concludes the annual Gospel Music Week convention.

"Songs are the soul of gospel music, making the Songwriter of the Year one of our community's highest honors," GMA president/CEO John Styll said in a released statement. "We congratulate each of these fine songwriters for the impact they have made this year."

In addition to other songs they have written, each of these writers earned a nod in the in the song of the year category. Franklin wrote "Imagine Me." Hall co-wrote "Praise You in this Storm" with Bernie Herms, which became a hit for Hall's band Casting Crowns. Kearney penned "Nothing Left to Lose." Third Day frontman Powell wrote "Cry Out to Jesus." and Shust wrote "My Savior My God."

Brian Littrell, Natalie Grant and Donnie McClurkin are slated to host the Dove Awards. The show will include performances by tobyMac, Kirk Franklin, Mandisa, The Crabb Family, Take 6, Chris Tomlin, Leeland, and DecembeRadio.

The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.