NMPA Honors Amy Lee, Sen. Leahy

The National Music Publishers' Assn. will honor Grammy Award-winning songwriter/singer Amy Lee with its 2008 Songwriter Icon Award and Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.) with the 2008 President's Award.

The group will present Lee with her award during the NMPA general membership meeting, which is open to all publishers and songwriters, next week in New York City.

"The NMPA is in many ways a bridge between policymakers and the music publishers and songwriters we serve, so it's a privilege to recognize an outstanding representative from each of these groups in conjunction with our annual meeting each year," NMPA president/CEO David Israelite says.

"This year we are honored that the multi-talented Amy Lee will join us in New York City not only to receive this award but to perform as well," he continues. "We are also so pleased to present Senator Leahy with the President's Award. He a friend of the industry, and a true fan of music."

The Icon Award, which recognizes outstanding songwriters for their personal achievement, is presented to those who personify the vision of the NMPA and the goals of its members. Former recipients include Jimmy Webb and Neil Sedaka.

The NMPA established the President's Award in 2005 to recognize an individual who has been a leader on issues of importance to music publishers and songwriters, and who works diligently to strengthen intellectual property protection.

The group will present Leahy with his award in Washington, D.C. The annual meeting is set for June 18 in New York City.