Jadakiss Previews Hard-Hitting 'Last Kiss'

Jadakiss previewed his first album via Roc-a-fella/Def Jam, "The Last
Kiss," for Billboard in a private listening Tuesday (January 13). Though the Yonkers, N.Y. MC is still recording and plans to continue until the last minute, "The Last Kiss" already boasts 14 tracks with producers like Mr. Porter, Pharrell Williams, Red Spider and Black Keys contributing. Lil Wayne, Young Jeezy, Barrington Levy, Jazmine Sullivan, Ne-Yo and Sheek Louch also stop by for cameos.

In a nod to his gritty musical history—exemplified by his two solo albums, 2001's "Kiss The Game Goodbye" and 2004’s "Kiss of Death"—Jadakiss made sure that his new songs like "Pain and Torture" hit hard with a strong bass as he declared himself "the author of slick talk." "Something Else" featuring label mate Young Jeezy is a mass of tickled keys, horns and 808’s, while "Two-Step" featuring Pharrell Williams is clearly the female-aimed radio record. With breezy violins and the Neptunes' signature thick electronic bass, Jadakiss leisurely rhymes that he’s "two-stepping with his gangster self." Lil Wayne appears for "Death Wish" which, as one would expect, is filled with lyrics about how adversaries can ask for their own grisly end.

Overall, Jadakiss' song collection to-date will maintain his original fan base and maybe grow a new one if "Two-Step" gets the airplay it needs.

"The Last Kiss" is slated for release on March 10.

Here is the tracklist for "The Last Kiss":

1) “Pain & Torture”
2) “Something Else” feat, Young Jeezy
3) “Things I've Been Through”
4) “Can't Stop Me”
5) “Money and Jewelry”
6) “Smoking Gun” feat. Jazmine Sullivan
7) “Times Up” feat. Barrington Levy
8) “I Tried” feat. Avery Storm
9) “Searching” feat. Sheek Louch
10) “Two-Step” feat. & produced by Pharrell Williams
11) “Come and Get Me” feat. Sheek Louch and S.I.
12) “By My Side” feat. Ne-Yo
13) “Death Wish” feat. Lil Wayne
14) “Letter To B.I.G.” feat. Faith Evans

The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.