Gold Badges For Heather Small, John Paul Jones

There was industry recognition for a diverse list of figures at the 37th edition of the Gold Badge Awards in London. The event was staged by the British Academy of Songwriters, Authors and Composers (BASCA) in association with PRS for Music at the Savoy today (Oct. 20).

BASCA members nominate their colleagues and the Gold Badge Committee decides the final list of those who have made an outstanding contribution to Britain's music and entertainment industry. Recipients receive a gold tuning-fork lapel-badge and a certificate of honor.

This year's recipients included M People singer and solo artist Heather Small, pianist, conductor and composer Howard Blake and John Paul Jones of Led Zeppelin.

Tom Bradley, former deputy managing director of EMI Music Publishing, was also a Gold Badge recipient. In the program, Sir George Martin wrote that over 40 years Bradley has "quietly and consistently fought for the rights of authors and composers in this country." Martin hired Bradley as finance controller at the AIR group of companies.

Other winners included orchestral engineer and mixer Geoff Foster, soprano Lesley Garrett and jazz pianist, composer and broadcaster Julian Joseph.

Radio 2 producer Phil Swern also picked up an award, as did Clare Torry, the vocalist on Pink Floyd's "The Great Gig in the Sky." Sir Tim Rice said he attempted to get EMI to sign her when he worked there in 1966 but did not succeed. She went on to work with artists including Meatloaf, Serge Gainsbourg and Cliff Richard, as well as Rice and his collaborator Andrew Lloyd Webber.

"Her professionalism and talent has meant outstanding longevity in a business where even those who become household names can fall by the wayside," said Rice.

There was also recognition for veteran radio producer Brian Willey, a former vice-chairman of the Songwriters' Guild, and Paul White, editor-in-chief of Sound on Sound.

Tony Moore, a promoter at club venues in London including the Regal Room who was briefly in Iron Maiden, was also a recipient, along with Chris Shurety, who helps promote amateur participation in contemporary music.