A2IM Libby Awards: Chvrches, William Onyeabor, ATO, Glassnote Among 2014 Nominees (Exclusive)

Chvrches and William Onyeabor lead the artist nominees for the third annual A2IM Libera Awards (known as the LIBBYs), to be held June 19 at the Highline Ballroom in New York. A2IM is a not-for-profit trade organization represending the independent music business.

In the labels categories, ATO Records earned the most nods, followed by Glassnote, Luaka Bop, Matador and Merge (see full nominees list below).

"After five years of trying to reissue William Onyeabor, its just beautiful to see how many people now care about his music," Luaka Bop's Yale Evelev said in a statement on his label's four nominations for "Who Is William Onyeabor."  "To see him go from being an unknown artist that no one ever has heard of - to someone that's being widely recognized - is simply fantastic."

In addition to Independent Album and Label of the Year, other categories LIBBYs include: Video of the Year; Up and Comer Artist Award; Breakthrough Artist of the Year; Best Sync Usage; Light Bulb Award; Hardest Working Artist; Best Live Act of the Year; Creative Packaging Award; Independent Ally of the Year; and Independent Ally of the Year.

“As chair of the awards committee, I've been coveting these statuettes for three years, so it's fun to think we're getting a chance at one at last," commented Portia Sabin, who also runs Kill Rock Stars label which was nominated for a Light Bulb Award for its Win a Date With Marnie Stern promotion.

This year, Alligator Records founder Bruce Iglauer will be honored this year with a lifetime achievement award during the ceremony. Voting on all awards will be open to A2IM voting members from April 25 through May 18.

The LIBBYs, which is co-sponsored by Caroline, aims to celebrate the successes of independent labels and artists, and the services that support them. The awards are voted on by tastemakers, programmers and professional other independent music supporters.

"A2IM board member Martin Mills often cites JFK’s aphorism 'a rising tide lifts all boats,' which is associated with the idea that improvements in the general economy will benefit all participants in that economy," said A2IM president Rich Bengloff about the Libbys. "Nothing could be truer for our community as Billboard has reported that Indie label community market share reached 34.6% in 2013. Our Libera Awards reflect our member’s artist development growing into hits."

Other sponsors this year include the Orchard, ADA, Beats Music, YouTube, INgrooves, Silva Screen Music, Bandzoogle, and A to Z Media.

Big winners at the 2013 LIBBYS included the Lumineers, Glassnote Records and Dualtone. Tom Silverman, founder of Tommy Boy Records and New Music Seminar, received the A2IM Lifetime Achievement Award.

Here are the 2014 Libera Award Nominees:

Independent Album of the Year
-- Arcade Fire 'Reflektor' (Merge Records)
-- Arctic Monkeys 'AM' (Domino)
-- Boards of Canada 'Tomorrow's Harvest' (Warp Records)
-- Cécile McLorin Salvant 'WomanChild' (Mack Avenue Records)
-- Chvrches 'The Bones of What You Believe' (Glassnote)
-- Neko Case 'The Worse Things Get…' (Anti Records)
-- Phosphorescent 'Muchacho' (Dead Oceans)
-- The National 'Trouble Will Find Me' (4AD)
-- Vampire Weekend 'Modern Vampires of the City' (XL Recordings)
-- William Onyeabor 'Who Is William Onyeabor' (Luaka Bop)   

Independent Label of the Year Award - five employees or less worldwide
-- Daptone Records
-- Ghostly International
-- Innovative Leisure
-- Luaka Bop
-- Rhymesayers Entertainment
-- Temporary Residence Ltd.

Independent Label of the Year Award - six employees or more worldwide
-- ATO Records
-- Dualtone Music Group
-- Epitaph/Anti Records
-- Glassnote
-- Merge Records
-- Secretly Canadian
-- XL Recordings
Video of the Year
-- Arcade Fire "Reflektor" (Merge Records) / Video Director: Anton Corbijn
-- Chvrches "The Mother We Share" (Glassnote) / Video Director: Sing J. Lee
-- Queens of the Stone Age "My God Is The Sun" (Matador Records) / Video Director: Boneface and Liam Brazier
-- Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings "Retreat" (Daptone Records) / Video Director: Lizzi Akana
-- The Knife "Tooth for an Eye" (Mute/Brille/Rabid) / Video Director: Roxy Farhat & Kakan Hermansson
-- William Onyeabor "Atomic Bomb" (Luaka Bop) / Video Director: Nicolai Troshinsky

Up and Comer Artist Award
-- Alpine 'A Is For Alpine' (Votiv)
-- Angel Olsen 'Burn Your Fire For No Witness' (Jagjaguwar)
-- FKA Twigs 'EP2' (Young Turks/XL Recordings)
-- Lo-Fang 'Blue Film' (4AD)
-- Mandolin Orange 'This Side of Jordan' (Yep Roc)
-- The Strypes 'Blue Collar Jane' EP (Photo Finish Records)

Breakthrough Artist of the Year
-- Cécile McLorin Salvant 'WomanChild' (Mack Avenue Records)
-- Chvrches 'The Bones of What You Believe' (Glassnote)
-- Hurray for the Riff Raff 'Smalltown Heroes' (ATO Records)
-- Mikal Cronin 'MCII' (Merge Records)
-- Savages 'Silence Yourself' (Matador Records/Pop Noire)
-- The Front Bottoms 'Talon Of The Hawk' (Bar/None Records)
-- Valerie June 'Pushin' Against A Stone' (Concord Records)
-- William Onyeabor 'Who Is William Onyeabor' (Luaka Bop)
Best Sync Usage
-- Alabama Shakes "You Ain't Alone" (ATO Records) in Dallas Buyers Club by District Music
-- Beach House "Take Care" (Sub Pop Records) in trailer for Blue Is the Warmest Color
-- Cat Power "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas" (Matador) in Apple iPhone 5s and Airplay – "Misunderstood" by Peymon Maskan and David Taylor at Media Arts Lab
-- Cinematic Orchestra "To Build A Home" (Ninja Tune) in Guiness The Cinematic Orchestra - To Build A Home by Third Side Music
-- Grinderman "Hyper Worm Tamer (UNKLE Remix)" (Anti-) in Nike Running Presents: The Nike Free 5.0 - online ad by JT Griffith - Nike
-- Junip "Line of Fire" (Mute) in Breaking Bad - series finale trailer video by Bankrobber Music
-- Wax Tailor "Positively Inclined (feat. Marina Quaisse & A.S.M.)” (Le Plan Music / Revolution Songs) in Motorola G / Motorola by Aaron Mercer / Wool Tusk / Revolution Songs
Light Bulb Award
-- Label Name: Warp Records / Project: Boards of Canada / Head of Marketing: Steven Hill & Josh Berman
-- Label Name: Kill Rock Stars / Project: Win A Date with Marnie Stern / Head of Marketing: Portia Sabin
-- Label Name: ATO Records / Project: The Silver Gymnasium 8-Bit Video Game / Head of Marketing: Will Scheff / Kirby Lee / Jon Salter
-- Label Name: New West Records / Project: Songs For Slim / Head of Marketing: Peter Jesperson
-- Label Name: Ghostly International & Warby Parker / Project: Ghostly International x Warby Parker: Curtis Sunglasses / Head of Marketing: Samuel Valenti
-- Label Name: Luaka Bop / Project: Who is William Onyeabor? / Head of Marketing: Eric Welles Nystrom
Hardest Working Artist
-- Charles Bradley (Daptone Records)
-- Hurray for the Riff Raff (ATO Records)
-- Local Natives (Frenchkiss Records)
-- Passenger (Nettwerk)
-- Taylor Swift (Big Machine Records)
-- The National (4AD)
-- Twin Forks (Dine Alone Records)
Best Live Act of the Year
-- Arcade Fire (Merge Records)
-- Charles Bradley (Daptone Records)
-- Chvrches (Glassnote)
-- Hanni El Khatib (Innovative Leisure)
-- J. Roddy Walston & The Business (ATO Records)
-- Pearl Jam (Monkeywrench Records)
-- Queens Of The Stone Age (Matador)

Creative Packaging Award
-- AWOLNATION - Megalithic Symphony Deluxe Edition (Red Bull Records) by The Uprising Creative
-- Kurt Vile - Wakin On A Pretty Daze (deluxe LP) (Matador Records) by Stephen Powers/ESPO
-- Okkervil River - The Silver Gymnasium (ATO Records) by William Schaff/Daniel Murphy
-- Quasimoto - Yessir Whatever (Stones Throw Records) by Jeff Jank
-- Tift Merritt - Traveling Alone (Yep Roc) by Raúl Peña
-- Various - Mexican Summer 5 Years (Mexican Summer) by Jesper Eklow
Independent Ally of the Year
-- Merlin
-- National Public Radio
-- PledgeMusic
-- Record Store Day
-- Sirius XM Radio
-- SoundExchange
-- Spotify