Sony/ATV Acquires Leiber And Stoller

Sony/ATV Music has acquired one of the most sought-after publishing catalogs, the songs of Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller.

Leiber and Stoller wrote, arranged and produced some of the most memorable songs in American music, including Elvis Presley's "Jailhouse Rock" and "Hound Dog," the Drifters' "On Broadway," Wilbert Harrison's "Kansas City" and the Clovers' "Love Potion No. 9." They also wrote most of the major hits by the Coasters, including "Yakety Yak" and "Charlie Brown."

Under the deal, which sources say was in the eight-figure range, Sony/ATV owns the copyrights in the catalog, which includes more than 40 Top 40 hits. Leiber and Stoller will continue receiving their so-called writers' share of royalties.

"It was a gift from heaven to arrive and have Leiber and Stoller here, probably two of the most prolific songwriters of all time," says Marty Bandier, Sony/ATV chairman/CEO who took the reins of the publisher a few weeks ago after departing EMI Music Publishing.

Leiber and Stoller met in 1950 and soon began writing together. Leiber wrote the lyrics and Stoller wrote the music. Presley recorded more than 20 of their songs. Peggy Lee won the 1969 Grammy for Best Contemporary Vocal Performance, Female, performing their song, "Is That All There Is?"

"Smokey Joe's Café - The Songs of Leiber & Stoller," a 1995 Broadway musical based on their work, was nominated for seven Tony Awards. The cast soundtrack album won that year's Grammy for Best Musical Show Album.

Leiber and Stoller have been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame (1987), the Songwriters' Hall of Fame (1985) and the Record Producers' Hall of Fame (1986). They also share a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Key songs in the catalog include: Stand By Me, Jailhouse Rock, Hound Dog, Kansas City, Love Potion #9, Jackson, Is That All There Is?, Lucky Lips, Yakety Yak, Love Me, Santa Claus Is Back In Town, I'm A Woman, I Keep Forgettin', Don't, Spanish Harlem, Loving You, Searchin', Poison Ivy, Charlie Brown, Ruby Baby, I (Who Have Nothing), Trouble, Treat Me Nice, There Goes My Baby, Dance With Me, Little Egypt, (You're So Square) Baby I Don't Care, Young Blood, You're The Boss, She's Not You, Regulate, Saved, Pearl's A Singer, Smokey Joe's Café, Riot In Cell Block # 9, King Creole, Black Denim Trousers and Motorcycle Boots (L'Homme a la Moto), Bossa Nova Baby, Down Home Girl and Drip Drop.

Sony/ATV is a joint venture formed by Sony and trusts formed by Michael Jackson.

"I am delighted that we were able to acquire the Leiber Stoller catalog," Jackson said in a statement. "The songs of Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller have defined an era, and the artists who have recorded their work reads like a who's who of rock and roll."