ASCAP To Honor Composers Broughton, McCarthy

Composers Bruce Broughton and Dennis McCarthy will be honored at the 25th annual ASCAP Film and Television Music Awards June 24 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles. The event will recognize composers of the most performed film and television music of 2009.

Broughton, known for his film scores to “Tombstone”, “Miracle on 34th Street”, and the “Homeward Bound” series will receive the ASCAP Henri Mancini Award, awarded to composers including Quincy Jones, Randy Newman, Johnny Mandel and Hans Zimmer for outstanding achievements in the world of film and television. The ASCAP Golden Note Award, which honors composers at milestones in their careers, will be presented to Dennis McCarthy, who will join the ranks of Garth Brooks, Jay-Z, Tom Petty, Stevie Wonder and others.

Also receiving recognition in the Top Box Office films category are James Horner (Avatar), Michael Giacchino (Up), Hans Zimmer (It's Complicated, Angels & Demons, Sherlock Holmes) and Randy Newman (The Princess and the Frog.)

Honorees in the Top Television Series category include David Vanacore (Survivor: Samoa and Tocantins, Ghost Hunters), Ramin Djawadi (FlashForward), Dan Foliart (Secret Life of the American Teenager), Sean Callery (24), and Ed Robertson of Barenaked Ladies (Big Bang Theory).