Aerosmith's Steven Tyler and Joe Perry will be the 36th recipients of ASCAP's Founders Award at this year's Pop Music Awards, it was announced today.

The Founders Award is given to artists who "have made exceptional contributions to music, inspiring and influencing their fellow creators."

"As part of one of our nation’s greatest and most iconic rock bands, Steven Tyler and Joe Perry crafted the music that defined a generation and continues to inspire songwriters today. They are true musical pioneers whose contributions to American songwriting are immeasurable. We are extremely proud to honor these cultural icons with the ASCAP Founders Award," ASCAP chairman Paul Williams said in a statement.

Tyler name-dropped some of the award's previous recipients -- which also include Beatles producer George Martin, Elvis Costello and Dr. Dre --  and singled out Tom Waits as a particular favorite. "It is humbling for Joe and me to be honored for our music alongside the likes of Stevie Wonder, Neil Young, Paul McCartney and Joni Mitchell. It's been a life-long love affair and it’s far from over. Besides, any society that lets Tom Waits in... I'm there!" Tyler is also scheduled to participate in a keynote interview with Showbiz 411 founder Roger Friedman the day after the Pop Music Awards, during ASCAP's "I Create Music" event.

Joe Perry echoed Tyler's sentiments, saying in a statement that "we join an incredible list of honorees and we are grateful to ASCAP for their support throughout our career."

Aerosmith was founded in 1970 by Steven Tyler, Joe Perry, guitarist Ray Tabano, bassist Tom Hamilton and drummer Joey Kramer. The Pop Music Awards will take place on April 17 at the Loews Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles.