Country, AC Lead Music Formats at 2012 Marconi Awards
Country, AC Lead Music Formats at 2012 Marconi Awards

marconi Dan Seeman, Vice President and Market Manager for Hubbard Adult Contemporary KSTP-FM (KS 95) Minneapolis (left) accepts the 2012 Marconi Award for Legendary Station of the Year from Gordon H. Smith, President and CEO of the National Association of Broadcasters.

Thursday night (9/20) the National Association of Broadcasters announced the winners of the 2012 Marconi Awards, which honor the best radio stations and on-air personalities in America for their excellence in broadcasting.

The ten open categories that pit stations from all different formats against one another were split evenly with music formats taking home five awards, two each for country and adult contemporary and one for Top 40, while spoken-word stations won the others.

Register today for the Billboard Hollywood Reporter Film & TV Music Conference
Presented by First Entertainment Credit Union Oct, 24 and 25 at the W Hotel in Hollywood. Use Promo Code BIZ12 to save $50.

Hubbard Adult Contemporary KSTP-FM (KS95) Minneapolis had a strong showing, winning both the coveted Legendary Station of the Year award and Large Market Personality of the Year for the Moon and Staci afternoon show. "They like us, they really like us! #omigodwewonit!" tweeted Staci Matthews from the awards dinner.

Lincoln Financial's KSON San Diego led the charge for country, winning Large Market Station of the Year while Zimmer Country KCLR-FM (Clear 99) Columbia, MO morning team Scotty and Carissa took home the trophy for Small Market Personality of the Year.

West Virginia Radio Corp mainstream Top 40 WVAQ (102VAQ) Morgantown, WV., rounded out the music station winners, taking home the trophy for Small Market Station of the Year, which Program Director Lacy Neff tells Billboard is the station's fifth Marconi. "The crazy thing about this is our listeners don't know they are in a 'small market.' We treat our listeners and our advertising clients like they are 'market No. 1."

Other multiple award winners included Clear Channel talk WHO-AM Des Moines, which took home Medium Market Station of the Year and Medium Market Personality of the Year for morning host Jan Mickelson. Hubbard all-news WTOP Washington nabbed Major Market Station of the Year and News/Talk station of the Year.

Sports radio was well represented also with DirecTV/Premiere's Dan Patrick winning Network/Syndicated Personality of the Year, CBS sports WFAN New York's Mike Francesa being named Major Market Personality of the Year and Entercom WEEI-AM-FM, Boston taking Sports Station of the Year.

Here are the rest of the winners in the format specific categories:

  • AC Station of the Year: Jerry Lee's WBEB (B101) Philadelphia
  • CHR Station of the Year: Clear Channel mainstream KIIS (1027 Kiss FM) Los Angeles
  • Country Station of the Year: CBS WYCD (99.5 WYCD) Detroit
  • Oldies Station of the Year: CBS Classic Hits WOGL Philadelphia
  • Religious Station of the Year: Salem Broadcasting Contemporary Christian KLTY Dallas
  • Rock Station of the Year: Alpha Broadcasting Adult Alternative KINK Portland
  • Spanish Station of the Year: CBS Spanish AC KMVK (MEGA 107.5) Dallas
  • Urban Station of the Year: YMF Urban AC WBLS New York

Head HERE to subscribe to Billboard's free music-business newsletters:
Breaking News, Touring, Top 40, Country and many more.