Norwegian songwriters/producers Tor Hermansen and Mikkel Eriksen were the big winners at the ASCAP Awards tonight (Oct. 10) at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London, where they took out the songwriter of the year honor.

Hermansen and Eriksen, who are professionally known as Stargate, were recognized for their role in crafting seven of the most performed songs of the past year, including Ne-Yo's "So Sick" and "Sexy Love," Rihanna's "Unfaithful," Kelly Clarkson's "Walk Away," Beyoncé's "Irreplaceable" and Lionel Richie's comeback "I Call It Love."

The pair also took out the prestigious ASCAP song of the year award for Ne-Yo's "So Sick" ballad, which clinched the No. 1 spot on The Billboard Hot 100 and No. 3 on Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs.

EMI Music Publishing U.K. was named ASCAP publisher of the year for the fourth time, a trophy bestowed to the music publisher with the most award-winning songs.

Mercury Prize nominated newcomers Bat For Lashes and the View were honored with special ASCAP awards. Natasha Khan's Bat For Lashes won the ASCAP vanguard award for her debut album "Fur and Gold," while Scottish alternative rockers the View claimed the ASCAP college award for their debut "Hats Off To The Buskers."

Coldplay, Dido and U2 were among the artists to receive multiple awards on the night.

Hosted by ASCAP senior VP, international, Roger Greenaway and VP, membership, Seán Devine, the annual awards recognize those Performing Right Society writer and publisher members whose works are licensed by ASCAP and among its most performed works in 2006.