Songwriting team Alan and Marilyn Bergman was presented with the Founders Award at the 23rd annual Film & Television Music Awards, held this evening (May 6) by the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP).

Taking place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles, the ceremony also honored the composers of the top box office film music and the most performed television music of 2007.

Paying tribute to the Bergmans’ career, artists Siedah Garrett, Lari White and pianist Mike Lang performed a selection of the pair’s Academy Award-winning songs. The evening’s special presenters included producer Norman Lear, producer/writer Larry Gelbart, director Norman Jewison and longtime Bergman collaborator Quincy Jones.

Winners of three Academy Awards and four Emmy Awards, the Bergmans have penned lyrics for such memorable film songs and TV themes as “The Way We Were,” “Good Times” and “In the Heat of the Night.” In addition to songwriting, Marilyn Bergman has served as ASCAP’s president/chairman since 1994.

Awards in four categories -- most performed themes, most performed underscore, top television series and top box office films -- were also presented.

Among the other composers honored for their achievements in 2007 were Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman (“Hairspray”), Lisa Coleman and Wendy Melvoin (“Heroes”), James Newton Howard (“I Am Legend”) and David Vanacore (”Survivor: China;” “Survivor: Fiji”).