Composer Christopher Young ("Ghost Rider," "The Grudge" and "The Exorcism of Emily Rose") received the Richard Kirk Award at BMI's Film & Television Awards held Wednesday night at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Los Angeles.

The award, named after late BMI Vice President Richard Kirk, is given annually to a composer who has "made significant contributions to film and television music." Previous winners of the Kirk Award include John Williams, Alan Menken, Danny Elfman and Thomas Newman.

Peter Golub, head of the Sundance Institute's Film Composers Lab, received the Classic Contribution Award for his role in enhancing music in independent film.

The event was hosted by BMI president and CEO Del Bryant, and film/TV relations VP Doreen Ringer Ross, who presented more than 80 BMI Crystals to the composers of music featured in the past year's top-grossing films, top-rated prime-time network television series, and highest-ranking cable network programs, as well as those composers who won Emmys.

Pete Townshend took home the most awards, a total of three, for his work on "CSI," "CSI: Miami" and "CSI:NY." Those composers that took home two included Steve Jablonsky, Rupert Gregson-Williams, George Fenton, Mychael Danna, Aaron Zigman, Kevin Kiner, Mike Post and Matt Koskenmaki.