The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) honored U.K. artists including Dido, Kate Nash and pop-rock band The Kooks at its London awards ceremony.

The ASCAP Awards, held at the Grosvenor House Hotel tonight (Oct. 15), recognized the most performed works in 2007 by writer and publisher members of U.K. collecting society PRS, who are licensed by ASCAP for the U.S.

Hosted by ASCAP senior VP, International Roger Greenaway and VP, membership Sean Devine, the ceremony also included a performance by husband and wife songwriting/production team and recording artists Ashford and Simpson.

Dido, who releases her new album "Safe Trip Home" (Sony BMG) on Nov. 17, was named songwriter of the year. She also won ASCAP awards in recognition of the number of U.S. public performances last year of "Thank You" and "White Flag" (Warner/Chappell Music U.K.).

The song of the year honor went to John Beck and Steve Chrisanthou for EMI recording artist Corinne Bailey Rae's "Put Your Records On" (published by Good Groove Songs Ltd).

Kate Nash won the ASCAP Vanguard Award for her debut album, "Made of Bricks" (Geffen). Nash is signed to Universal Music Publishing

The Kooks was honored with the ASCAP College Award for their debut album, "Inside In/Inside Out" (Astralwerks). The band is signed to Sony/ATV Music Publishing U.K.

"We're very pleased to celebrate the achievements of the writer and publisher members of the PRS whose music is represented by ASCAP in the United States," said Roger Greenaway in a statement. "I'm especially pleased to pay tribute to Nick Ashford and Valerie Simpson. Their songs have truly stood the test of time."

Guy Moot, managing director at EMI Music Publishing U.K., was named publisher of the year. Honorees in the film and TV theme categories included Cathy Dennis, Julian Gingell and Barry Stone for "American Idol."

Annie Lennox collected her eighth ASCAP Award for the Eurythmics song "Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)," co-written with Dave Stewart and represented by Universal Music Publishing. Songwriter Ken Riley's "Everlasting God" (Thankyou Music Ltd) was the first Christian music song to be recognized at the ceremony.

There were also ASCAP Awards for songs written by AC/DC's Brian Johnson ("Back In Black", "You Shook Me All Night Long"), New Order ("Blue Monday"), Paul McCartney ("Come Together", "Hello Goodbye"), Yusuf Islam ("First Cut Is The Deepest"), U2 ("I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"), Paolo Nutini ("New Shoes"), Def Leppard ("Pour Some Sugar On Me") and Keith Richards and Mick Jagger ("Start Me Up").