Singer/songwriter Kara DioGuardi will be honored with the 2009 "Songwriter Icon Award" at the National Music Publishers Assn. annual meeting, to be held in New York on June 17.

DioGuardi, who was added as a fourth judge on American Idol this year, has written or co-written songs that have been recorded by Kelly Clarkson, Christina Aguilera, Gwen Stefani, Celine Dion, Faith Hill, Carrie Underwood, Pink, Britney Spears and Avril Lavigne, among others. She has co-written nine No. 1 singles.

"As the songwriter and producer behind some of the leading artists of the decade and now with even wider recognition in her role on the biggest music program sensation of our time, Kara's influence on today's music is hard to overstate," NMPA president and CEO David Israelite. "We are so pleased she will accept the Icon Award for 2009 from the community of songwriters and music publishers the NMPA is honored to represent."

The Icon Award recognizes outstanding songwriters for personal achievement and who personify the vision of the NMPA and the goals of its members. Former recipients include Amy Lee, Neil Sedaka and Jimmy Webb.