NMPA To Honor Richard Marx With Songwriter Icon Award
NMPA To Honor Richard Marx With Songwriter Icon Award

The National Music Publishers' Association (NMPA) will honor Grammy-winning, multi-platinum artist/producer/songwriter Richard Marx at its annual meeting, to be held June 15 at New York's Marriott Marquis Hotel.

Marx will be presented with the 2011 Songwriter Icon Award, which recognizes outstanding songwriters for personal achievement and who personify the vision of NMPA and the goals of its members. Former recipients include Diane Warren, Kara DioGuardi, Amy Lee, Neil Sedaka and Jimmy Webb.

In addition to his own successful recorded output, Marx has written or produced hits for *NSYNC, Barbra Streisand, Josh Groban, Keith Urban, Vince Gill, Luther Vandross, Kenny Rogers, Travis Tritt, Paulina Rubio, Daughtry, Natalie Cole and Lifehouse, among others. In 2004, he won the Song of the Year Grammy for "Dance With My Father," which he co-wrote with the late Vandross.

Congressman Bob Goodlatte will also be presented with the NMPA President's Award during the event.

The keynote speaker will be U.S. Department of Homeland Security U.S. Immigration and Cutoms Enforcement director John Mortan. Kenneth Feinberg, special master of the NMPA late fee settlement program, will be special guest speaker.