ASCAP's 33rd Annual Awards Held in London, Winners Include Steve Mac, Universal, Patrick Doyle

ASCAP's 33rd annual Awards event, held at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London today and hosted by ASCAP EVP of International Roger Greenaway and VP of Membership Seán Devine, has named its winners and crowned its special honorees, including over 20 songs, eight film and television composers and Universal Music Publishing (for the second time). The awards go to members of U.K. performing rights society PRS for Music whose work is licensed by ASCAP.

Universal Music Publishing took Publisher of the Year for the second time on the strength of several songs, including: "Mercy" by Kanye West, Big Sean and Pusha T; "Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)" by Annie Lennox and "Take Care" by Drake. UMP's Europe and U.K. president Paul Connolly laid out some math in a statement: "Amazing songwriters + hardworking staff x superlative catalogue = international hits + ASCAP Publisher of the Year. Again! We're very proud."

Songwriter of the Year was presented to Steve Mac behind "Glad You Came" and "You Make Me Feel." Mac also won Song of the Year alongside his writing partner Ed Drewett for their hit "Glad You Came."

The evening's three special honorees were: Singer Ben Howard with the Vanguard Award, Camille Purcell's acceptance of the Foundation Stone Award for new creators in songwriting and composer Patrick Doyle's win of the Henry Mancini Award for his work in film and television composition.

A full list of winners can be found at