Aussie Rapper 360 Leads APRA Awards Nominations

With four nods, Australian hip hop artist 360 is the frontrunner for the June 17 APRA Awards in Melbourne, though the likes of Sia and Tame Impala aren't far behind.

The rapper, whose real name is Matthew Colwell, has enjoyed a huge 18 months since his sophomore album “Falling & Flying” dropped. Last year, he led the Australian record industry’s flagship ARIA Awards with six nominations (winning breakthrough artist and producer of the year), he’s won multiple Jagermeister Independent Music Awards and in 2011 was named broadcaster Channel V’s publicly voted “Oz Artist” of 2011. The album has stayed on the ARIA sales chart for much of that time.

Along with co-writer Kaelyn Behr (Styalz Fuego), 360 has been shortlisted for breakthrough songwriter of the year, and their multi-platinum hit “Boys Like You” featuring Gossling has been nominated in the most played australian work category. “Boys Like You” is also up for urban work of the year, where it’ll face off against another of their compositions, “Child.”

There’s a hattrick of APRA Award nominations for pop artists Sia Furler, Guy Sebastian and Timomatic. Critically-celebrated psychedelic act Tame Impala has two chances for the song of the year award -- with the tracks “Elephant” and “Feels Like We Only Go Backwards.”

In the international work of the year category, the Black Keys’ Daniel Auerbach and Patrick Carney’s “Lonely Boy” (co-written with Brian Burton) will compete against Coldplay and Brian Eno’s “Paradise,” while Ed Sheeran’s Lego House (co-written by Jake Gosling and Christopher Leonard) is in with a chance. Carly Rae Jepsen’s global hit “Call Me Maybe” (co-written with Tavish Crowe and Joshua Ramsey) also makes the cut, as does Fun. feat. Janelle Monáe’s “We Are Young,” written by Jack Antonoff, Jeffrey Bhasker, Andrew Dost and Nathaniel Ruess.

The recipient of the Ted Albert Award for outstanding contribution, which will be decided by the APRA board of writer and publisher directors, has yet to be announced.

Click here for the APRA Awards mini-site.

The event relocates this year from Sydney to the Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. Subscription TV partner MAX will tape the event for broadcast on June 26, followed by encore presentations on June 27 and July 1.

Questions? Comments? Let us know: @billboardbiz