Canadian artists The Weeknd, Tegan & Sara, Carly Rae Jepsen and international acts fun. and Rihanna were among the winners last night (March 20) at the first of four awards shows held during Canadian Music Week 2013 (March 19-24). Sponsored by Astral and hosted by Mad Dog & Maura, the 16th annual Canadian Radio Music Awards was held at the Kool Haus.

Live performances included Marianas Trench, U.S.S., Monster Truck, Massari, Anjulie, Elise Legrow, Jesse Labelle, Shawn Hook and Victoria Duffield.

Nominees comprise artists who have hit the Canadian charts for the first time and who have achieved top airplay in different formats based on radio “spins,” as recorded by Nielsen Broadcast Data Systems (BDS) in 2012. Except for some categories, the votes are cast by program directors, music directors, and on-air personalities to determine the winners.

SOCAN Song Of The Year, not surprisingly, went to Carly Rae Jepsen’s “Call Me Maybe,” written by Jepsen, Tavish Crowe, and Marianas Trench frontman Josh Ramsay. The Rock award went to Monster Truck for “Seven Seas Blue;” CHR to Victoria Duffield for her song “Feel;” Dance/Urban/Rhythmic to Tegan & Sara for “Closer;” Hot AC to Jesse Labelle for his song “Heartbreak Coverup;” Mainstream AC to Scotty James for “Wanna Be Loved;” and the Country award to Dallas Smith, the former frontman for rockers Default, for his single “Somebody Somewhere.”

There were also two non-voting awards: Weeknd won the FACTOR Breakthrough Award for top airplay, which is given to a new FACTOR grant-supported act; and the Sennheiser Chart Topper Award for top overall airplay went to Jepsen.

Three new categories were also added this year and were voted on by radio listeners across Canada: International Group of the Year won by fun.; International Solo Artist of the Year by Rihanna; and Heatseeker Award by Serena Ryder. CRMA Fans’ Choice Award, also voted on by radio listeners, went to Marianas Trench.

A Special Collaboration Award went to all the performers that participated in the recording of Cyndi Lauper’s “True Colors,” under the umbrella Artists Against Bullying, which raised money for Kids Help Phone. Artists included Simple Plan’s Pierre Bouvier, Hedley’s Jacob Hoggard, Lights, Kardinal Offishall, Fefe Dobson, Alyssa Reid, Walk Off The Earth, and Autotune The News.