El Canto del Loco, David Bisbal and Shakira were the main winners at the Premios Principales award ceremony, held at the Palacio de Deportes in Madrid on Saturday (Dec. 16).

Pop/rock group El Canto del Loco won three of the 10 awards: best national song for "Volverá" (Sony BMG), best group and best tour. Vale Music artist David Bisbal won for best national artist and best video clip, while Colombian singer Shakira took best international artist and best international song for "Hips Don't Lie" (Sony BMG).

La Oreja De Van Gogh took just one of the five awards it was nominated for -- best national album for "Guapa" (Sony BMG). Other winners were Nena Daconte (Universal) for best new national artist, and Lucie Silvas for best new international artist.

The gala was broadcast three hours later on national TV channel Cuatro -- owned by Grupo Prisa, which also owns Los 40 Principales. Cuatro reported an average 6% audience share for the 11pm-1am evening slot. It was also broadcast live on pay-TV 40 TV and on Los 40 Principales, but no listening figures were available at press time.

The event marked the 40th anniversary of Los 40 Principales, Spain's most popular Top 40 national radio network. For the first time, the public decided the winners from a shortlist of five nominations, which was selected by Los 40 Principales based on sales and airplay.

Some 15,000 people attended the gala, which featured performances by Antonio Orozco, Mexico's Julieta Venegas, and Maná, also from Mexico. Other performers included Dover, Jamelia, Amaral with Moby, Paulina Rubio and Lucie Silvas.