Augie March's guitarist Glenn Richards had a double win at the Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA) awards, held today at the Melbourne Town Hall.

APRA's 33,000 voting members chose Richards' "One Crowded Hour" as song of the year.

And the Melbourne-based artist, who is signed to Sony/ATV Music Publishing Australia, also won the breakthrough songwriter category.

"In our penniless years, it was those APRA cheques that kept us going," he told the audience.

"One Crowded Hour" was voted in January as the best track of 2006 by the listeners of national radio network Triple J.

Augie March's domestic Top 10 album "Moo You Bloody Choir" (Sony BMG) is slated for a U.S. release Aug. 9 through Jive/Zomba. The act played New York and Los Angeles in late May, and returns to the U.S. for an extensive run August/September.

Meanwhile, songwriter of the year honors went to Wolfmother (Universal Music), who won the breakthrough category last year.

Other winners based on airplay were Jet's "Are You Gonna Be My Girl" (BMG/Famous/ Get Jet) for Australian work overseas; Shannon Noll's "Lift" (BMG/ EMI/ Mushroom) for most performed Australian work; and the Santana track "Feel Better" (Peermusic/ EMI) for most performed foreign work.

Winning the most performed genre categories were Mark Sholtez's "Love Me For The Cool" (EMI) for jazz work; Kasey Chambers' "Nothing At All" (Sony/ATV) for country; TV Rock featuring Seany B's "Flaunt It" (Sony/ATV) for dance; Butterfingers's "Get Up Outta The Dirt" (self published) for urban; and Bernard Fanning's "Songbird" (BMG) for blues and roots.

The Ted Albert award for outstanding service to the Australian music industry went to artist manager Michael McMartin. Through his Melody Management firm, McMartin looked after acts like Hoodoo Gurus, and producers such as Charles Fischer and Wayne Connolly.

McMartin helped set up the Music Managers Forum in Australia, and more recently, became executive director of the International Music Managers' Forum, the umbrella organization for managers in 15 countries. The award, chosen by the board of APRA, is named after publisher who set up Albert & Son, which later signed AC/DC, the Easybeats and John Paul Young.

The APRA awards hosted live performances from Katie Noonan, TV Rock featuring Seany B, Augie March, Eskimo Joe, Phrase, and former Men At Work singer Colin Hay.

This year marked the awards' 25th anniversary, which the association tied to the 40th anniversary of indigenous Australians getting the vote. Songwriter Kev Carmody took to the stage with Paul Kelly and Missy Higgins to perform Carmody's song about indigenous women in history, "Droving Women."