U.K. pop/rock band the Fratellis and former Cranberries vocalist Dolores O'Riordan are among the 10 winners of the fifth European Border Breakers Awards.

The winners' names were unveiled today ahead of a ceremony to be held in Cannes on the opening day of Midem on Jan. 27.

The EBBAs are awarded to European acts with albums which have been the most successful in reaching audiences outside their own country, based on chart data provided by Billboard Information Group. The awards are an initiative of the European Commission in partnership with European music companies.

Jan Figel, European commissioner for education, training, culture and youth, will present EBBAs to the following winners:
The Fratellis, "Costello Music", Fallout/Island/Universal (U.K.)
Cascada, "Everytime We Touch", Zooland Records (Germany)
Sunrise Avenue, "On The Way To Wonderland", Honest Production/Bonnier Amigo Music Group Finland/EMI Germany (Finland)
Ayo, "Joyful", Polydor/Universal (France)
Dolores O'Riordan, "Are You Listening?," Sanctuary (Ireland)
Basshunter, "LOL", Extensive/Warner Music (Sweden)
Miguel Angel Munoz, "M.A.M.", M6 Interaction (Spain)
Reborn, "Fools Rush In", ARS Entertainment/Universal Music Belgium (Belgium)
Dune, "We Are In There, You Are Out Here", Iceberg Records (Denmark)
Hemp Gru, "Klucz", Prosto (Poland).

"The EBBA Awards underline the importance of creativity and an open attitude towards cultural diversity in a globalizing world," said Figel in a statement.

"By honoring the award-winning groups and artists," he continued, "alongside their record companies and publishers, the EBBA Awards also clearly show the inter-linked nature of the process of musical creation and how this is a necessary element for cross-border success."