Melbourne-based garage rock band Eddy Current Suppression Ring is $30,000 Australian ($21,000) richer after winning the Australian Music Prize for its 2008 album "Primary Colours" (Aarght Records/Shock).

The announcement was made in Sydney March 20 in front of a packed room of artists, media and industry execs. The four-piece's acclaimed offering beat out eight other AMP shortlisted sets, which included chart-topping Modular Recording releases from Cut Copy ("In Ghost Colours") and the Presets ("Apocalypso"), alongside recordings from CW Stoneking, Ross McLennan and Jack Ladder. Collecting society the Phonographic Performance Company of Australia donated the prize money.

Eddy Current has been a word-of-mouth grower over the past year, driven by dynamic live sets and an album which ranked highly on many Australian music critics' year-end 'best album' lists. The Australian Association of Independent Music feted "Primary Colours" with the best independent hard rock/punk album trophy at last November's AIR Awards in the group's hometown.

The AMP award was established in 2005 and is modelled on Britain's Mercury Prize, with a maxim to encourage, reward and promote Australian music of excellence. The previous three winners of the prestigious honour were the Mess Hall's "Devils Elbow" (Ivy League), Augie March's "Moo, You Bloody Choir" (Sony BMG) and the Drones' "Wait Long By The River and the Bodies of Your Enemies Will Float By" (In-Fidelity).

Other winners at last Friday's winner's ceremony included Sydney artists Jack Ladder who scooped $15,000 Australian ($10,500) when his 2008 album "Love Is Gone" (Spunk) was awarded the Red Bull Award in recognition of outstanding potential.